Venom Reviews

Page 1 of 135
December 15, 2018
It's good if you understand what's going on. Not if you're just seeing it to see Tom.
December 15, 2018
This movie was fun from start to finish. Venom definitely became a lovable character by the end.
December 15, 2018
5 stars for the soundtrack alone! Don't even get me started on the graphics!
December 15, 2018
Not as bad as everybody makes out. Theres some questionable scenes and dialog but its a film that zips along.

Main gripes is why does venoms head appear when talking to Tom? Just stick with the voice-over. And how come Riot can body jump with ease but the others cant?

For a similar film but better made watch Upgrade instead.

One last thing, this should have been R rated!
½ December 15, 2018
Cool but predictable. Most people always predict Marvel to make something predictable! Other than that, they could've gone two ways with the symbiote Venom. They could have made him really creepy and powerful or they could have made him a funny, kind of goofy Venom and again, I'm not surprised that they went with the latter. Venom is not the best movie ever made but I liked it because I like superhero movies and Venom was always one of my favorite antiheroes.
½ December 15, 2018
Nobody says that cliches and tropes must always a bad movie make. And nobody says that a comic book adaptation that takes liberties with the character can't succeed. However, Venom is a pile of bad jokes, comic book film tropes, and eye-roll inducing comedic misfires. You'll ask yourself at some point, is Eddie Brock on the spectrum-- not because of the symbiote that he talks to-- but because of the choices Tom Hardy makes in playing the character. By the time the film was reaching its climatic confrontation between Venom and whatever the villain was called (Riot, I guess), I was reaching for my phone the way a person does when they're trying to kill time waiting for their oil change to be completed.
December 15, 2018
It's 2018 and the animations we're bad and Tom Hardy should just stick to minimal speaking rolls. Bane/Eames
December 15, 2018
I thought the movie did well for what it was, would have liked to see some stronger scenes to get higher rating but in no way does this movie deserve the rating it's gotten, it is definitely worth more than 28% on the tomatometer... I used to take this sites word for gold back in the day but seeing that rating idk what to think.
December 15, 2018
Terrible writing flimsy and shallow characters and CGI that just looks cheap. Spawn was way better and that was what 20 years ago.
December 15, 2018
I have something to say about this film that no one else wants to admit. Movies nowadays are all just a single genre, may it be action,romance,or even comedy;well,this movie has it all. All of the people rating the movie as a disaster, aren't getting mad about the movie, it is because this film is actually good,and different, and that they are mad that this film didn't meet their specific criteria about this movie that we all have dreamt about. That being said,this film was awesome and definitely worth buying and watching again.
December 15, 2018
para mi la pelicula divertidad
½ December 15, 2018
fun movie with lot of plot holes
December 15, 2018
Nobody channels Eddie Brock / Venom like Tom Hardy. Nobody!

As someone who had hundreds of Spider-Man comics when I was younger (I even owned a copy of Amazing Spider-Man #300 featuring the first full appearance of Venom), this is the PERFECT Venom origin story. And when I see Tom Hardy as Eddie Brock, Venom's alter ego, it makes me feel happy, contented and as fuzzy as the symbiote.

In the comics, Eddie Brock is a character that is a bit of an outcast, is unsure of himself and gets even more confused (initially) when Venom entered his life, and Tom Hardy channels Eddie Brock to perfection!!! Venom in the comics had some dark-ish humour, and the humour that Venom spouts in the movie is spot on - in fact Venom gets the best one liners. And the biggest laughs from the audience. The movie portrays a beautiful symbiotic relationship between Eddie Brock and Venom, and shows progression in their relationship throughout the movie.

The CGI for Venom is also spot on, making him a highly flexible and versatile character with the symbiotic extensions doing some cool stunts. It makes Venom look cool and dangerous at the same time. The pacing is just right, and Tom Hardy's versatility as an actor really stole the show, so much so that this would work even if this was a one man show.

And the post-credit sneak preview is "one to die for" - I DEFINITELY want to see the next Venom - it'll be CGI carnage...

Peeps, forget the previous incarnation of Venom, this is the REAL deal. Possibly the best movie I've seen in 2018 to date. Stuff the stuffy professional critics. They haven't had any clue for the past 25 years and are no longer credible sources for good movies - much like the fake news. Go watch Venom. It's da bomb!
December 14, 2018
truly sad that critics are so quick to downplay a genre that they clearly don't understand. venom was a lighthearted take on the typical superhero trope, by any means this is a love story and it's lightness sets the tone so not to be taken too serious. loved every last second of it, as most did.
December 14, 2018
The second screen iteration of my favorite Spider-Man villain , after the travesty that was 2007's Spider Man 3 gives us a movie that honestly should have been made 10 years ago - that's how bad this movie is. It would have fit in perfectly in this old cinematic world of Spidey where campy as fuck action and lines was acceptable and the norm.

Frankly, I'm amazed at how a turd like this could get made - (shout out to the movies trailer for putting that word back into my vocabulary) - especially considering we live in a time of great comic book movies.

Tom Hardy is easily the best part of this, as his often scared and apologetic demeanor after bonding with Venom and being completely taken off guard by the powers he now possesses is funny and both exhilarating. Problem is, is that it really only makes up for .... a third of the movie.

The supporting cast is heartbreaking, as Oscar WINNER Michelle Williams and Riz
Ahmed are given a BRUTAL SCRIPT, full of corny as hell, unfunny one liners that try so hard to be funny that you could hear eyes rolling after they were delivered. Like these are two A List actors, three including Tom Hardy who I think is one of the best actors working today, and watching them try to salvage this movie is soul crushing.

Someone said to me the other day "Do you watch porn for the plot, or those big ass symbiote titties".... And hey, I wish those and the action could have saved this movie. But unfortunately, when all was said and done, this hour and 40 minutes was painful.
Symbiote titties aside, here's to hoping the sequel actually tries harder & hoping you go spend your money on First Man, A Star Is Born, Bad Times at the El Royale ... or FUCK , even Goosebumps 2 this weekend. Just not on this.

Grade : C -
December 14, 2018
While I loved the dynamic between Eddie and Venom, it just felt kinda like a drag and I was sometimes even bored in the action scenes which isn't good for a movie like this.
December 14, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed it. It seemed to be exactly what it was trying to be; a comic-book-like anti-hero film. Tom Hardy rocked the role.
December 14, 2018
I actually really enjoyed this contrary to what I heard it was expecting!
½ December 14, 2018
rotten tomatoes quit censoring me venom was good
½ December 14, 2018
Much like Venom, I fed off of Tom Hardy's charisma. I'd watch a full movie of him talking to himself.
Page 1 of 135