The Hate U Give Reviews

Page 1 of 19
½ February 14, 2019
The Hate U Give is a powerful, important film if not a great one. Based on the best selling Young Adult novel of the same name it's a robust film about race and discrimination in the modern age. The centre of the story is Starr who, along with her siblings, has been raised to be strong and proud of their blackness. They live in a black ghetto area of a large American city. From a young age they are taught lessons on how to stay safe from not only their neighbourhood but the white powers that be, namely the police. To further their safety they are sent to a predominantly white school. So Starr and her brothers get to exist in two worlds. When Starr's best friend is shot and killed without cause by a policeman it sets off a powerful story of racial politics and deadly consequences. The mainly young cast is mostly excellent and it's an important film in these days of discrimination. But the main fault I found is that it is often heavy handed, some of the writing lacks nuance and is instructional rather than informative. Points are rammed home rather than happen naturally. Still it has a certain innate power and a passionate heart that makes for an enjoyable if flawed film.
February 13, 2019
this is truely one of the most amazing movie i have and probably will ever see. its very empowering and is full of the great content that i feel everyone must experience seeing at least once. i was crying throughout almost the entire movie and its really changed me. i highly recommend you watch this movie!
½ February 13, 2019
I know I'm supposed to like this movie and all because of it's narrative on racism, but it was just not adequate. It was just ridiculously melodramatic. For a movie that is so obviously trying to tell an important story (and I don't disagree here about the importance of said story), it is so hackneyed and full of itself, I found myself being relieved it was over with absolutely no intention of ever seeing it again.
February 11, 2019
After witnessing a murder, black high school student Starr Carter (Amandla Stenberg) decides to stand up against racism while dealing with her own internal conflict of self-identity.

Acting: 10

Beginning: 8
The toughest part about critiquing is having to say something isn‚(TM)t perfect, but not really having any ideas as to how to fix it. The beginning was‚¶good. Characters are introduced as you meet the Carter family for the first time. It definitely could have been better, however. I felt it dragged on for slightly too long, but at the same time I understand director George Tillman Jr. was going for an emotional connection. While it could‚(TM)ve been better, it is solid enough of a start to get you into the movie.

Characters: 10
The film revolves around Starr and her family. Each family member contributes to the overall dynamic of the story. You can see how Starr is shaped by her strong father Maverick (Russell Hornsby) who is all about standing up for what‚(TM)s right and protecting the family at all costs. Her mother Lisa (Regina Hall) just wants Starr to have a better life than herself growing up. Starr recognizes that and tries to embrace it, but also feels guilty while doing so. It was therapeutic watching Starr evolve into a woman after feeling so powerless in the earlygoings of the film. All of these characters, even those outside of the Carter family, have depth and add value to the story.

Cinematography/Visuals: 10

Conflict: 10

Genre: 8

Memorability: 10
The Hate U Give is packed with twists and turns that you don‚(TM)t expect or see coming. It really is a small world that we live in, too small to go around hating each other. The film succeeds by showing us just how small this world is. There are a number of memorable scenes that remain etched in my brain long after watching the movie. It‚(TM)s one of those films that stays with you, leaving you with cause for much thought.

Pace: 9
There were a few spots where the build-up was a bit slow, but it‚(TM)s not a major issue that impacts the movie as a whole. This goes back to what I was mentioning in the beginning. Not perfect, but I‚(TM)m not sure how much I would have done differently than Tillman Jr. For the most part, the movie is highly entertaining and has a consistent flow.

Plot: 10

Resolution: 10
Ended just the way it should, not with some fairytale conclusion, but reality. Thank God for justice, but the movie leaves us with the full understanding that there is still work yet to be done. Very strong messaging.

Overall: 95
The Hate U Give is not your typical race war movie as it pushes for peace in coexistence and challenges the ideas of self-identification. The dynamics involved here are truly interesting as you see a black vs. white vs. hood life going on and what happens when lines cross. With a solid cast and story, it is not a surprise that this is one of my favorite films of 2018.
February 11, 2019
undeniably underrated, SO good or so many levels.
February 10, 2019
Amazing and powerful story that relates to the real world
½ February 10, 2019
Este impecable drama racial deja un aire desgarrador de realismo que a cautiva y impacta cada ves mas,The Hate u Give maravilla por su frialdad y realismo ,una lucha incansable en contra del racismo es la mezcla perfecta que logra el Director George Tillman Jr.
February 10, 2019
I enjoyed this movie. Certain parts of the movies are extremely emotional. There are trigger warning in the movie. I do believe this is a movie that everyone should see the display of police brutality was done perfectly. The aftermath of police brutality and witnessing death was also done perfectly. The acting could have been better from certain actors. I also did not like the ending of the movie. but, I do agree with the story of the movie and I think the message of the movie will hit home for a lot of black families. overall, it is a decent movie but, for some reason, I was expecting more.
February 10, 2019
An eye-opening, inspirational movie about the reality of prejudice in America.
½ February 9, 2019
As the main character's two worlds clash in the wake of a tragic shooting, the mature and timely "The Hate U Give" shows us all the black, white, and grey of our troubled times.
½ February 9, 2019
Powerful. Tearjerking. Thought provoking. And once again, Harry saved the day.
February 8, 2019
I loved this movie! I also cried a lot.
February 8, 2019
Must see for everyone
½ February 7, 2019
Oscars ....Why not???
½ February 5, 2019
Wasn't certain what to expect. Getting pulled over for a minor traffic violation leaves me pissed off at the cops for a few Weeks unless they smile and let me go. Which VERY rarely happens anymore (just getting a warning), the last 5 + Years, and I'm old and white and live in the Pacific Northwest. I think "get on the ground now" is degrading as can be and wish law enforcement would PLEASE come up with something - maybe "get on your hands and knees now" - anything new or better for us, that leaves them feeling safe too. If a cop told me to do something - don't get out of the car, don't move, don't walk towards me, don't talk, etc., I would do so. That's where I have difficulty agreeing with certain issues-points of view- realities? A lot of words to explain the Star Rating at the top of this Audience Review.
This is like a very good after school special that talented movie makers got a hold of and took to another level. There are a lot of movies made that are not as good as this one. Recommend.
½ February 5, 2019
"The Hate U Give" is an essential and important film that deeply and sensitively captures the experience of modern themes of police brutality and the Black Lives Matter movement.
February 4, 2019
This was my favorite movie of 2018.
February 3, 2019
most realistic & emotional movie ever. so so good
February 3, 2019
Bombass movie! Made me hella cry! The feels!!!
February 3, 2019
I absolutely love this movie it shows how much racism there is in this world and how much people care about it and want a change I have watched this movie 6 times and I get more and more excited about it every time I hope they make a second movie so this movie also teaches you to be brave and speak your rights and don‚(TM)t ever be quiet and if you you see your best friend get murdered by a black or white police you need to tell what happened and never be quiet and love yourself for who you are don‚(TM)t hide yourself from others even if you are different ‚Shine your light and let it be bright‚? and never be afraid of to talk even if someone if someone is making you be quiet. ‚Don‚(TM)t let nobody ever make you be quite‚? The Hate You Give
Page 1 of 19