The Grinch - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Grinch Reviews

Page 1 of 13
November 19, 2018
The Grinch is well meaning and completely harmless but it's a really generic and cliched kids movie.
½ November 19, 2018
"The Grinch" has plenty of energetic gags that are funny as well as an engaging voice performance from Benedict Cumberbatch, although this adaptation is not very innovative and does not do anything new with the source material.
November 19, 2018
I love this movie I really recommend it to every family not surprised how good itā(TM)s doing form a movie production considering that itā(TM)s made by the people who made grate movies
November 18, 2018
This movie had creativity, but really lacked in humor. Even that illumination potty and fart jokes arenā(TM)t here. Kenan Thompsonā(TM)s character was the only thing that got me to laugh. Every thing else was just a little chuckle or nothing. At least itā(TM)s better than the Emoji Movie, where all the jokes missed. So itā(TM)s fine, but Iā(TM)d just wait till Wreck-It-Ralph 2
November 18, 2018
Terrible pacing, they quickly get to him deciding to steal Christmas but it takes forever to actually get to that. There's a lot of scenes that just feel pointless. Cindy Lou Who was great as a character but really felt wasted. Overall the movie was pretty boring. They gave the Grinch a backstory to try and give him emotional depth but the change near the end still felt very shallow and dumb. Any emotional points they tried to make they literally had characters just outright SAY it instead of showing it in a meaningful way. Also the movie felt like a byproduct of its time- Pharrell Williams is a poor choice of a narrator, there's a joke about writing on booty shorts, bad hip hop cover of the original Grinch theme, screaming goats, etc.

The dog's the best part of the movie
½ November 18, 2018
One for the kids, with just enough modernization that doesn't detract from the heart and soul of the original. Great 3D effects and kid humor that should become a holiday favorite. I could have done without the rap music, but it is 2018.
½ November 18, 2018
Competent re-telling of the familiar story but it doesn't add anything new or original to the telling and gets a little slow and dull as they try to pad it out to feature length.
½ November 18, 2018
I can't believe I'm saying this, but the Jim Carrey version was leagues ahead of this colorful bland adaptation. At least that one was interesting!
November 18, 2018
Watched the new animated Grinch movie...not a fan! The Grinch's voice sounded very monotone, not grumpy or grinch-like. The narrator that voiced the grinch theme song and story was a good singer, but that's the point, it was too nice/polite and was a bad fit for a Grinch movie. The Who's looked like the Fisher Price Little People. This movie could not keep my interest, I just wanted to sleep not even a 3rd of the way into the movie.
The original cartoon Grinch will never be outshined by this subpar reboot. The live action Grinch by Jim Carrey's is second to none and became an instant classic. This reboot was just bad in my opinion. Don't waste your money...it should have went straight to video.
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
November 18, 2018
The second go at a twenty-first century feature-length Grinch movie is a thoroughly, spectacularly bland movie. This mediocre enterprise barely stretches to feature length at 86 minutes and it lacks the charm of the original Dr. Seuss cartoon. Benedict Cumberbatch voices the green recluse with his three-sizes-too-small heart set on stealing the Christmas celebration of others. That's great casting, but why is he settling for his Doctor Strange-style American voice? The man has such a natural, rich, velvety voice. Another miscue is the fact that this Grinch isn't really feared by the people of Whoville. He lives just outside of ton and isn't really that mean. He's less a villain and more just a grumpy sad guy who has to over explain everything for the audience to understand ("I thought stealing Christmas would make me feel better, but really I was running from myself..."). This movie is brightly colored and nicely animated but it's strictly just for little kids. The lessons are pretty simplistic. The characters are mostly annoying, precocious, or mute. The humor is mostly slapstick. There is nothing to engage bigger thinkers. This Grinch movie actually made me start re-evaluating the 2000 Ron Howard version, which at least tried something and had an enjoyably hammy Jim Carrey performance with some creepy good makeup prosthetics, and I didn't even like that movie. The new animated Grinch film is inoffensively lackluster. At best it's a disposable 90 minutes to distract easily distractible children and give mom and dad time for a nap.

Nate's Grade: C
November 18, 2018
Excellent and first movie to truly respect Dr Seuss.
November 18, 2018
Great adaptation and fantastic delivery of the original message. Will definitely be adding this movie to our collection.
November 18, 2018
IT WAS THE BEST GRINCH MOVIE I HAVE SEEN SO FAR!!
November 18, 2018
Though it can be odd and annoying at times, the Grinch is a film with absolutely beautiful and colorful visuals that will always remind you of the dr. Seuss style. the Grinch is less threatening and is more friendly and furry than mean and menacing. The writing will make you chuckle or shed a tear, and I'll definitely see this movie again this year. I rate this movie 5 stars
November 18, 2018
This movie was one of the worst movies, I grew up with the live action film so I was expecting the movie to be good, but the story was the worst , so many plot wholes, I would not that kids to it, the whole thing was horrible in general, all the characters were confusing, in conclusion DONT SEE THIS MOVIE
½ November 18, 2018
another pointless remake , why?
November 18, 2018
Dr. Seuss' The Grinch

Main Characters
The Grinch: Yeah, that guy. He's voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch
Cindy Lou Who: A citizen of Whoville. She's voiced by Cameron Seely.

Plot Summary (as if you needed one)
It is getting close to Christmas, and the Grinch just want to be left alone. But the citizens of the nearby town worship the holiday with great obsession.
They decorate the whole town and sing the carols. This drives the Grinch nuts, and he hatches a plan to get rid of the holiday by stealing all the things associated with Christmas - the presents, the decorations, the trees and the treats left for Santa.

SCORING
Main Characters
This Grinch isn't as evil or mean as the others, and I like how he and Max have a close relationship. The two of them make this film.
And Cindy Lou is just adorable in her quest to get a message to Santa. SCORE: 9

Supporting Cast
Not as memorable as the main cast. There's a moose that shines in the scenes he's in, but Cindy Lou's mother and the other citizens of Whoville are just - okay. SCORE: 7

Plot
This follows the plot of the classic tale, but there are a few new scenes where the Grinch and Max go about Whoville trying to avoid Christmas. It's fun to watch. SCORE: 9

Originality
This really doesn't do much with the classic tale. If you seen the special on TV or read the story, then you know what's going to happen here. SCORE: 6

Violence Factor
Not much going on here - except that I wonder if Whoville has any security or police in their town. SCORE: 8

Other Moral Issues
Just the same as the classic tale - if you want friends, then you should be a friend. SCORE: 9

Final Score (out of 60): 48 % Score: 80%
Sure, the tale may be old and tired, but the main cast, as well as Max, really makes this film shine.
½ November 18, 2018
Was not impressed by this one was cute on some parts but wasnā(TM)t as great as hyped up to be. Completely strayed from the original movie.
½ November 18, 2018
Technically speaking it is a beautifully crafted version of the world and characters. Some great slapstick animation and unique ideas on the practicality of stealing Christmas in one night. My criticisms would be the Cumberbatch voice is not as characterful as that of the Carrey version and the overall demeanor of Mr Grinch is not angry and bitter enough in the first half of the film, to give the final story reveal as much potency and impact as the moment deserves. Kids will love it, Story tellers will leave wanting greater contrast of character.
November 17, 2018
Great for kids but not adults... has no adult themes like other movies ... strange that theater has such late showings.... to late for kids to be up
Page 1 of 13