The Grinch Reviews

Page 1 of 33
January 19, 2019
Good for kids, not good for nostalgia.
January 18, 2019
I liked it suprisingly, despite the bad reviews. in the original story we don't really know why the Grinch hates Christmas, so this new motif is as good as any. It's lighthearted and well achieved. Cindy Lou is lovely!
January 18, 2019
Just really bad, storyline was horrible
January 17, 2019
It was ok. Grinch was cute but went too far from what the Grinch should be. The who's were awful! Didn't look anything like what a Who is supposed to look like. Changed it to much for me and im a huge Grinch fan.
½ January 16, 2019
The Grinch has got to be one of the most disappointing movies of the year. On paper, it should be a great film; from the company who made Despicable Me, with a voice performance from Benedict Cumberbatch, and narration by Pharrell Williams! Unfortunately, the movie falls pretty flat in terms of pacing. The beginning is promising and intriguing, but the middle section of the movie is boring, and most of the scenes do not seem necessary. Scenes are boring and drawn out, and the humor seems a bit forced. However, the animation is stunning, and your eyes will be lit up with delight. The ending will give Christmas cheer as well, and might bring tears to some. The main section of the movie is just to boring that I was not satisfied with the movie when the credits rolled. Young kids will enjoy it, but everyone else, maybe not.
½ January 15, 2019
Not necessary and not exceptional; The Grinch is SERVICEABLE at best and wastes perhaps the greatest voice of our generation in the direction of Benedict Cumberbatch's whiny teenage performance.
January 12, 2019
What a touching moment! This full-length animated film intensely has you gazing at the screen, without a doubt. This enjoyable, wonderstruck, emotional, touching and kid-friendly movie is directed by Yarrow Cheney and Scott Mosier. Get ready to enjoy this perky piece of family entertainment, just in time for the holidays. It is filled with memorable and touching moments that catch you off guard.
The story follows a mean-spirited, cynical and grumpy Grinch who sets his eye on a mission, with his energetic dog Max, to destroy Christmas for one deplorable reason. The Grinch really hates Christmas, especially the loud, bright celebrations in Whoville. In order to get some peace and quiet, the Grinch disguises himself as Santa Clause and you‚(TM)ll have to wait to see how he steals Christmas from The Who‚(TM)s. He doesn‚(TM)t expect what happens when he meets a young girl names Cindy Lou. The Grinch realizes he is only afraid of one thing that has affected him his whole life.
The lead characters in this film are Grinch (Benedict Cumberbatch), Cindy Lou (Cameron Seely), The Mayor of Whoville (Angela Lansbury), Izzy (Scarlett Estevez) and narrator (Pharrell Williams).
My favorite part of the film is when the grumpy and cruel Grinch changes his attitude and action choices. He has a change of heart and experiences his old ways to become happy and respectful as he feels valued (which is what everyone should feel). A quick theory of what happens is the small young girl changes the Grinch heart with a sentence, and that sentence changes everything.
This holiday film will definitely bring lots of laughs and humor. The film certainly provides positive messages about optimism, compassion and generosity. The animation deserves a big round of applause. It is jaw dropping, extraordinary, realistic to the story theme, beautiful and vibrant. The amazing animation is brought to life by Cinzia Angelina (storyboard artist), Sylvia Deboissy (Character Designer/ Development Artist), Patrick Muylken (color designer) and many more.
I give this film 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 4 to 16, as well as adults. Truly, the whole family will enjoy the film. It is designed with so much reaction moments.
Reviewed by Nathalia J., KIDS FIRST! Film Critic. For more reviews by youth, visit kidsfirst dot org.
January 11, 2019
The grinch was thick.
½ January 11, 2019
Illumination Entertainment brings us the Grinch story to the big screen. The original live action Grinch was a letdown so I expect this to be better and I was right. Benedict Cumberbatch voices the Mischievous Grinch who wants to steal Christmas from all of the who's in whoville. This film is one of the best Dr Seuss films because all of the other were terrible(especially that monstrosity that is The Cat In The Hat, still gives me the chills)that has been put onto the big screen.
½ January 10, 2019
As a hardcore Grinch fan, I was initially worried about Illumination taking a shot at it. After seeing it, I have to say it wasn't terrible. It wasn't anything amazing either though. It's a safe version of the original Seuss story. Only real issue I had was the Grinch was too socially awkward instead of cruel...The sad backstory too-Wasn't needed in the Ron Howard adaptation, why would it be needed now?
½ January 10, 2019
It had all the ingredients to be the best animated film of all time, and somehow the recipe became spoiled in the process and what remained was a bland, boring remnant of what could have been a classic.
½ January 8, 2019
I loved this movie. I actually thought the story (along with the characters) were better than the original Jim Carrey Grinch. Jim Carrey was a better grinch then Benedict Cumberbatch however.
January 8, 2019
Probably my favorite of movies produced by Illumination. This movie was adapted from a children's book, which implied that there would be details that needed to be added to extend this movie to a feature-length film. But since the Grinch and other characters have so little for character traits, producers needed to further develop the characters by adding character traits to existing characters, as well as new characters and story arcs for them to go through. While these additions would mostly be tedious, there were some good and bad ones. The best of these additions was Cindy Lou's arc. All she wants for Christmas is for her mom to be happy, and I thought it was going to be terrible. However, they put a interesting child-like wonder spin on the story, involving trapping Santa to tell him her wishes. But, this movie also has bad additions and filler as well. As much as filler goes, that mostly consisted of the scenes in Whoville or where the movie spent a little too much time on jokes that just fell flat. Did they really have to include Grinch being chased around by carolers? However, the things that really hurt this movie, was the addition to the Grinch's backstory and his character arc. In the original book, Grinch didn't have a backstory, he just hated Christmas. However, when making a full-length film on the Grinch, the first question to be asked is probably, "Why does the Grinch hate Christmas?" Now, Christmas movies have been done to death, and in some of these there is a scrooge or in our case, a Grinch, and creating a backstory on these characters is really hard in terms of satisfaction. The time spent on his backstory was so minimal for the impact it could've had on the movie. I would argue it would be better for him not to tell us backstory, like he was unwilling to share it or think about it. The reasons they gave, however, were very common and boring, so I'm glad they didn't spend too much time on it. And at the end of the movie, we had the Grinch give a speech on how he was so sorry, and I for one was extremely annoyed by this. This was a very unsatisfying falling point to the climax of Grinch's arc. Because of this, it made a potentially good ending feel cheesy.

But there were plenty of positives too. For example the build-up towards the climax was nice to watch, all of his gadget building, searching for reindeer, as well as his recon attempts, it felt like no time was wasted and that everything was well paced. The jokes in the movie for the most part were pretty good, it's hard to make laugh out loud but I appreciated the sense of humor it had an could see this as a very humorous children's film. The comic relief character also didn't feel overbearing, that may have been because he was there for ten minutes and a small cameo in the end of the film, but nevertheless he gets a pass. I like how the Grinch just doesn't only have one emotion now, but a conflicted perspective of emotion and who he cares about. As for the animation, it didn't look bad. There are times where the movie really shines with its animation, like in the Stealing Christmas scene, everything was animated so fluidly and was so intriguing to watch, I was invested. But of course, the animation style is not my favorite but it isn't something to be mad about either. An the final thing I'd like to talk about is the music, the music has been greatly changed from its previous incarnation, using different music mediums like rap, jazz, and of course some original remixed soundtracks.

Overall, I was expecting worse but I came out surprised and had a good experience. Definitely not one of my favorite movies but a good one nonetheless. 6/10
½ January 8, 2019
Jim carry version was better but animated grinch movie looks so bad
½ January 6, 2019
Just awful, the only apealing thing about this was the graphics, making it more apealing for the younger viewers, but was absolutly not like the original grinch, cindy lu did not go to the grinch in the original one, the grinch did not walk around in public nor have a real raindeer, it completley strayed from the original story ruining it, again though i will say the graphics themselves were much more apealing earning itself a whole half a star.
January 6, 2019
A lot like the original felt it lacked a bit by contrast. Still, a good movie for those who don't like the original this may be better suited to you. The grinch also seems a lot kinder in this version. The promotional trailers were however, wuite different from the movie. They gave away the best parts of the film.
January 6, 2019
Loved it... my favourite of the lot!!!
½ January 6, 2019
WORST MOVIE EVER. II LIKE THE ORIGINAL CARTOOON ONE THAT IS ONLY ABOUT 20 MINUTES LONG. THIS MOVIE IS ALSO SUPER CREEPY AND MOST OF THE STORY IS NOT LIKE THE ORIGINAL DR. SUES MOVIE. THIS IS A DISGRACE!
½ January 6, 2019
Illumination Entertainment brings us the Grinch story to the big screen. The original live action Grinch was a letdown so I expect this to be better and I was right. Benedict Cumberbatch voices the Mischievous Grinch who wants to steal Christmas from all of the who's in whoville. This film is one of the best Dr Seuss films because all of the other were terrible(especially that monstrosity that is The Cat In The Hat, still gives me the chills)that has been put onto the big screen. The films plot is when The Grinch wants to steal Christmas from all of the who's because he never had a Christmas. I found the subplot completely pointless because it wasn't in the book.
I would recommend you to see this film with your family at Christmas time because I had a fun time watching it. Recommend 6+ for some scenes of Slapstick.
Grade B
½ January 5, 2019
Not sure what the hate is about but it was a decent family movie with a heart touching ending
77%
Page 1 of 33