The Girl in the Spider's Web Reviews

Page 1 of 9
January 19, 2019
While in the previous Millenium films, Lisbeth Salander felt like a genuine fragile character, in this new installment she comes across as a second rate Jason Bourne knock-off, which makes her way less of a believable character. The Girl In The Spider's Web suffers from lackluster storytelling, weird accents used by the actors and no-real pay-off. Time to lay this franchise to rest.
½ January 19, 2019
Really wanted to like this because of the previous movies but it just dont hit the mark at all plus the lead actor is awful
January 19, 2019
Lisbeth Salander has just become another super hero, and it's not a good thing at all.
January 19, 2019
Once one realizes that this is the Hollywood version of the Millennium saga, it's useless to look back: "The past is like a black hole. You get too close it will pull you in and you disappear" (cit.). Better to judge the film as an independent episode, more a reboot than a sequel, which explicitly declares its own less ambitious promises and keeps them: those of an average spy action thriller.
(Mauro Lanari)
½ January 18, 2019
This movie its an insult to Stieg Larson's fans and his legate.
January 18, 2019
It's way better than the Hollywood version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 2011.
Stieg Larsson was a great writer
½ January 18, 2019
Really, very, truly awful - the beauty of the books does not exist in this film. Larson would cry if he saw this film. It doesn't make sense, has no logic, and lisbeth sucks :(
January 6, 2019
Not as good as the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. It(TM)s exciting enough but lacks the originality of the franchise.
December 27, 2018
Just relax and enjoy a fun time of action at the theater, but not much more. Sometimes, it was difficult to understand Claire Foy due to her extremely quiet voice. She also didn't show much emotion in the role. I've never seen any of the other "girl" films and haven't read the books, and maybe that's how she was directed. But it wasn't good. Some smiles and jokes would've helped this movie. Sylvia Hoeks did a better job as the sister. Perhaps she should have been cast as Lisbeth Salander.
½ December 24, 2018
Same story


Elizabeth is lesbian and mikeal sex etc

And mikeal write elizabeth story
Name diffirent

Everything same story old movies
½ December 23, 2018
Too much is asked of the audience to believe. A bit fantastical.
December 19, 2018
this movie was underrated and good
December 18, 2018
terryborchers Terry B December 5, 2018 is a very accurate review. I would add that the butchering looks like it was funded by the NSA to obfuscate its central role as a debauched criminal agency in the book. There is a side story of a jealous former colleague arranging for Blomquist to be undermined by jealous media rivals. That is another possible genesis for this horrible film: an attack on the Millenium Series reputation. Whatever is the lowest rating is my choice for this one.
December 17, 2018
nice aesthetics , poor logic
December 16, 2018
Seemed a tad too unbelievable and didn't have enough twists or turns. It was fairly straightforward action film where unfortunately, I didn't feel too much for the protagonist. It was alright.
December 16, 2018
Great movie. The best Lisbeth by far
December 16, 2018
I really enjoyed this film. It is not the same quality as it predecessors, but if you watch it in the right frame of mind, you will have a great time. Think of this film as an alternative to Batman or the Black Widow (a super hero film), and you will have a blast. I think Claire Foye and Lake Stanfield make a great team.
December 13, 2018
Claire Foy gave a great performance but the plot was not as developed as the last version. It was a bit draggy in the middle of the movie. A decent and sometimes entertaining movie.
December 10, 2018
terrible terrible most horrible +++ shit
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2018
I'm fairly certain nobody asked for this. And I'm DAMN sure Sony didn't want to make it. But here we are. The Girl in the Spider's Web is the latest (and probably) last film adaptation of the Millennium franchise. If you may recall a decade ago, a trilogy of books written by Swedish author Stieg Larson gained a cult following internationally, which was followed by a modestly successful low-budget trilogy of films made in Sweden. Not to be left out of the action, Hollywood (in this case Sony) bought the rights to make their own version of the first book, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. In what could have been a disaster (See: The Snowman) we instead got a generously funded picture helmed by David Fincher, and scored by Trent Reznor, hot off the success of The Social Network. It was another modest victory for the franchise, making a small profit and several academy award nominations, winning one for film editing. But that wasn't enough for Sony, who wanted an unrealistic $500 million, and refused to back a sequel with comparable cost. Meaning all the A-list talent (Fincher, Reznor, Rooney Mara, and Daniel Craig) walked out the door. Any sequel would be made on the cheap and would not be a priority for the studio.

And that's precisely what led us to this pass. The Girl in the Spider's Web. An ill-administered film made years after the franchise had faded, based loosely on a book not written by the creator of the series, by a studio indifferent to its success, and a team not suited for this kind of picture. But credit must be given where it is due. Claire Foy commits admirably to make the best of a doomed situation and must be commended for courage under fire. She is the third actress to play the heroine Lisbeth Salander, and while she is easily the weakest version, she still gives a capable run, dying on a hill no else cared to defend. The film itself makes an inexplicable error - it tries to become an action film in the vein of the Bond series or Mission Impossible. While the Millennium novels have always had connections to 007 (look it up) Lisbeth Salander's adventures were always small scale and slow-burn mysteries. Both the series and the character are ILL EQUIPPED to deal with the game of shadowy terrorist organizations, stolen nuclear codes, dodging explosions, rogue NSA agents, hallway firefights, and chases involving motorcycles and supercars. I shit you not. That is the plot of our Girl with the Dragon Tattoo sequel.

There is a scene early on in which Salander does what she does best - punishing the shit out of assholes who abuse women. And that's probably the best scene of the film, because it is the only one with any pulse. While it's obvious that they probably should have made smaller scale versions of the rest of the original trilogy instead of this misfire, I'm not sure they could even accomplish that. Some characters from the series return in dramatically altered form, such as Mikael Blomkvist, and are largely given nothing to do. Fede lvarez was successful in his attempt to remake Evil Dead for the 21st century, but it's clear that he was given little freedom here, as there is little to no artistic stamp present. Gone is the neurotic, but charming claustrophobia of the Swedish trilogy or the cold, slick beauty of Fincher's film. What we have is a lifeless, pointless piece of drivel filled to brim with action and double-crosses, yet it remains boring and inert. I highly doubt this is going to get any academy awards. I can't even recommend Spider's Web as a rental or on Netflix. You have better things to do with your time.
Page 1 of 9