The Clovehitch Killer Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 9, 2018
An essentially perfect POV of the Not-BTK from his son's perspective. Timely, given the true crime trend in modern culture, as well. Loved it. The unsatisfying ending knocks it down a point, though.
½ December 8, 2018
A horror mystery coming of age film. It was good and slowburn and meticulous, almost cruel taunting the audience with uncertainty. The end wasn't as good a reveal as I would have hoped though. Pretty dark, even without blood or gore.
December 8, 2018
This is a very smart movie. The Clovehitch Killer is small in scope and slow paced, but is masterfully and methodically crafted. It manages to be suspenseful without being technically showy. Highly recommend for anyone who knows how to appreciate a good, slow-burning, bluntly presented movie.
½ December 4, 2018
Slow thriller but completely enjoyable.
December 3, 2018
well done, very creepy. Dermott Mulroney or Dylan McDermott whomever. edgy creepy.
December 3, 2018
An amazing new take on the serial killer drama. Intense from beginning to end.
December 1, 2018
definitely a different Dylan McDermott we have not seen before, putting on a few pounds and losing some of his former charmer boy good looks to transform into a suburban Kentucky dad with secrets in his closet -- very watchable, esp. the two young actors, but the ending is a bit incredulous, i agree
November 30, 2018
Amazing plot. Awesome movie all around.
½ November 27, 2018
Ugh. Highly predictable and not at all interesting in the least.
November 27, 2018
There's no need for blood or excessive acts of violence when the scares are this unsettling. Will watch it again using boxxy software with good quality and sure using VPN.
½ November 26, 2018
Actually I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would, it's a bit overestimated. I don't think they had enough original ideas to make a movie about a hidden serial killer. Been there, seen that.
November 25, 2018
11/25/2018
A seemingly ideal family living in a quiet little town didn't seem to be the perfect unit a boy was made to believe. This after discovering what seemed to be a nasty little secret of his father. Though quite predictable, the movie was brilliantly relayed in a nonlinear narrative.
November 25, 2018
Great Movie. You felt bad for the Son & The Father What a Sick Man Goes To Show The Deceptive Masks The Devil Wears.
November 22, 2018
I watched it, despite I was not inspired by the trailer, because of reviews talking about "smart writing". and that it is true only if you consider the "Goosebumps" books, also to be "smart written". So my one word review is: bad.
November 22, 2018
A nice little thriller framed in America conservative suburbia.

For some critics, the fact that the script doesn't dabble in symbolism or in a deconstruction of American society is a lost opportunity. I think it was the ideal decision.

This is, in principle, a piece of entertainment based on a slow-burn, brilliantly constructed suspense. The debate will come later, for those interested. And that's what a truly good work of fiction should do.
November 19, 2018
The Clovehitch Killer is a smart setup, it steadily builds anticipation, it's patent with its reveals, frankly, I don't think the director wanted to hide anything, it kept its cards on the open while going towards an unexpected ending, it is very unsettling in nature mainly because of Dylan McDermott chilling performance who has a very strong grip on the plot of the film, even though I liked the ending but it felt like it was half backed somehow, I would have loved a more convincing ending but this one did the job of wrapping up a well set up story.

The Cloverhitch Killer does a good job of utilizing the unsettling feeling of secrecy and fear, I wanted more out of it but that's just me, credit where credit do and this film earned its credit.
November 19, 2018
Was an OK movie but more like a made for TV Lifetime movie.
November 18, 2018
Really good movie. It's a slow burn that really picks up for Act 3. There isn't much surprise who the killer is, but the fun part is wondering how it will all play out. The acting was great, very believable. The setting was nice, it really gave you a small town feel with a strong Christian bond. The direction was ok, nothing special, but nothing bad. The chemistry between the lead actors was awesome to watch as they developed.
November 18, 2018
This movie was slow yet a very good plot of who the killer really was. The reason for the 4 stars I was confused by the ending. Not sure if the son killed the father during his memorial service.
November 18, 2018
One fatal flaw. What about closure for the real victims in this story? What a cowardly ending...

+++++Spoiler Alert+++++

... to keep the Clovehitch Killer a secret.
Page 1 of 2