The Ballad of Buster Scruggs Reviews

Page 1 of 12
December 15, 2018
In their last picture, Hail, Caesar!, the Coens made a film of sideshows and loose-ends that spun off from the central narrative. The job of Josh Brolin's character was to quiet these disturbances and keep the main story on track, both figuratively and literally. In The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, the Coens have dispensed with the central narrative altogether, allowing their vignettes of the old West to spool forth unencumbered by a unifying structure, save a picture book anthology that introduces each story with an illustrated plate. Mortality is the shared theme undergirding each story, for no tale is without its violent conclusion, and a progressive sobriety builds throughout the film. The first chapter pitches shoot ï¿ 1/2~em up violence alongside wisecracks, irreverent glee, and song and dance numbers. The musical carries on even after death. But, by the final installment, much of the humor has been vacated and all that remains is the tragedy and solemnity of mortal ends. Two bounty hunters talk of entertaining their victims with stories, while unnoticed the grim reaper sidles in to do his inevitable work. The Coens, these two great modern yarn-spinners, know exactly what they're doing and have been doing all this time.
½ December 15, 2018
I had mixed feelings about this. Beautifully acted and shot, with some great black humour here and there but, in the end, it is the dark, hopeless tragedy that truly prevails, in a land where no redemption nor salvation seems possible, and I guess that was not exactly what I was expecting.
½ December 14, 2018
A gorgeous, somewhat funny, sad, quirky venture.
December 14, 2018
Sooo Coen Brothers. Beautiful, lyrical, humorous, and - as is always the case with those brothers - surprising.
December 14, 2018
Pequeñas historias en el viejo oeste sobre la muerte.
½ December 14, 2018
Tales from the West. So this is an anthology that gives you six unconnected stories about life in the Old West, all of which have something to do with death. I kind of wish I knew that last part going in so as to have approached this with the right frame of mind. All I knew is that this was the new movie from the Coen Brothers that was flying under the radar. I didn't know that the tagline to this was, "Stories live forever. People don't." Not that I wasn't able to adjust and enjoy, mind you, but that may have prepared me for the downer points... of course, this is the Coen Brothers, so I already was well aware that they are not the kindest and most merciful to the characters that they've written. Now this is the Coens' longest movie to date, but it really doesn't feel like it. What this feels like is more like a short miniseries that you could binge watch in one sitting. Netflix is actually the perfect avenue for this because 1. I don't think that this would have gotten nearly enough traction to merit a theatrical run, and 2. It makes it so you can take breaks if you want to between stories, should you so desire. I personally took an intermission after the first three segments were done, and it was very easy to pick right back up about 30 minutes later. Each story has nothing to do with the last one, and Buster Scruggs is only in the first story. I don't think Buster perfectly sets up the rest of the movie; after the first segment, you're ready for the rest of the movie to be a cartoon, and while the second is still comical, it plays it far more serious. By the time you reach the third, it gets downright dark, so tonally, I think this anthology has some issues. I did like this far more often than not, but I am very admittedly a gigantic fan of the Coen Brothers. I think the third segment, Meal Ticket, ended up being my favorite, but every single story has its moments. It is most definitely not the Coens' strongest work, but most of these stories actually end up being memorable. The Coen rhythm to the dialogue is there, even though there aren't any particular exchanges that you end up taking away, which is something they normally have a knack for. I don't think that this is for casual moviegoers, it is made for the people out there that have seen the entire Coen library.
½ December 14, 2018
Story 1: Fun, bit kooky, interesting main character.
Story 2: Scales down the kooky a little but still fun
Story 3: Utter change of direction and is bleak, dull and depressing with poor pacing where scenes do not need to go on nearly as long as they did. Not even Liam Neeson could save it and I freaking adore that mans acting!
Story 4: Again horrible pacing and unbearably boring - Very pretty scenery though.
At this point I gave up and turned it off. Scenes which could have been a couple of seconds dragged out for minutes, The first 2 stories had at least interesting/charming characters you could sort of root for and want to follow the stories of but after that I really didnt care about the following ones and it was just watching a series of events happen
December 13, 2018
Maybe I went in with the wrong expectations, but a half dozen short stories with no connection between them left me wanting. None of them were that great either. The first (Buster Scruggs) was the best, which means you can just watch the 1st 10 minutes and be done.
December 13, 2018
Wow. The Coen Brothers really know how to make dark-humored western vignettes. 'The Ballad of Buster Scruggs' is a very unique collection of stories that will leave you chuckling one minute, and shocked the next. Great cinematography and acting, and great writing. The Coen Brothers have done it again!
December 12, 2018
I kind of wish the show, movie, whatever it is, was just the opening segment. Some of the other parts weren't as interesting. Worth checking out for the opening 20 minutes though.
December 11, 2018
Wow! Every story was amazing writing, acting, directing. Will watch this 100 times and never get tired of it!
December 11, 2018
enjoyed it all the way through. wasnt ever bored. i just have no idea why it was made to begin with. its a whats for dinner movie. some really nice moments and scenes. each scene was worth while just not the sum of its parts.
December 11, 2018
they need to make the first episode a full fledged movie by far the best episode out of all of them.
Super Reviewer
December 10, 2018
1. The Gal Who Got Rattled

2. The Ballad of Buster Scruggs

3. All Gold Canyon

4. Meal Ticket

5. The Mortal Remains

6. Near Algodones
December 10, 2018
pentru originalitate. si povesti.
½ December 10, 2018
Coen Brothers are back in form
December 9, 2018
If you like predictable outcomes, the ugly side of human nature, to be hit over the head again and again with depressing, unhappy stories then this is the movie for you. It's strange, the cinematography was beautiful, the cast was high quality, the acting wonderful; so it's strange that even those good traits cannot make this movie worthwhile. After viewing the first two stories the viewer knows that nothing good will ever be coming so you know to expect the worst and that is what you get. It feels like the bros took Netflix's money and phoned this one in. I generally love Coen Bros movies, that's why I watched, I had high hopes which, unfortunately, were dashed by this depressing waste of time.
December 9, 2018
Brilliant! The second last story was absolutely marvellous, albeit simple. However, I couldn't fault a single one of the stories for their writing or creativity.
December 9, 2018
A very unique western anthology. All 6 of the stories were re the American Frontier. Of the 6 stories, 4 were very good and 2 were ok/good. None were bad. Its another great movie from Joel and Ethan Cohen. It's a very unique movie because the only anthologies I've ever seen are of the horror variety. This film was packed with stars, each segment featuring a popular or relatively known star.
December 9, 2018
Excelente fotografía y hermosas locaciones para contar un puñado de buenos cuentos sobre el Salvaje Oeste.
Page 1 of 12