Overlord - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Overlord Reviews

Page 1 of 10
November 16, 2018
Good - could have been great except for couple big stumbles falling back into predictable movie tropes, including the 'inevitable' mano-e-mano.' For fans of the zombie genre this is a real treat. I won't mention the wide inaccuracies of the historical elements - after all this is a fantasy thriller not historical drama.
November 16, 2018
This one was not what I expected at all! It was very well done without being cheezy! Good story
½ November 16, 2018
A zombie movie with no zombies. Well not completly, there is one zombie. The movie is a fun side trip as long as you keep your expectations low, are not hard up for zombies, and don't know much military history. The biggest complaint is the wasted potential.
November 16, 2018
i'm disappointed with season 3 , especially episodes 4 & 7 because it's not that interesting anymore and there is a lot of dead time and non sense talking in each episode... i fell in love with season 1& 2 but till now the 3rd season is a wasting of time and the episodes ends like it starts with nothing new , and this is really sad :(
November 16, 2018
My boyfriend and I saw this movie tonight it was recommenced by a family member and we loved it so much. 5 stars yes yes!
½ November 15, 2018
With equal parts midnight movie humor, disgustingly bloody horror violence, and retro patriotic war movie, ‚Overlord‚? could be accused of being overly ambitious. Maybe it should be accused of that. But somehow this splatterfest feels as if it‚(TM)s lacking initiative in all areas. There‚(TM)s so much that could‚(TM)ve been done in the way of subtext and irony, but instead director Julius Avery‚~s film feels like a lazy exercise in missed opportunities.

With only hours until D-Day, a team of American paratroopers (Jovan Adepo, Wyatt Russell, and John Magaro) drop into Nazi-occupied France to carry out a mission that‚(TM)s crucial to the invasion‚(TM)s success. Tasked with destroying a radio transmitter atop a fortified church, the desperate soldiers join forces with a young French villager (Mathilde Ollivier) to penetrate the walls and take down the tower. After they discover a secret medical Nazi lab buried beneath the church, the band of heroes come face-to-face with unstoppable, undead enemies.

The film is at its best when it borrows tropes from old-fashioned war movies instead of modern video games. There‚(TM)s plenty of classic wartime violence that‚(TM)s punctuated with zombie horror absurdity. It‚(TM)s ridiculous, yet not ridiculous enough. If you‚(TM)re not making a deeper point about something thoughtful and important, at least make it corny enough to amp up the camp.

Everyone is well cast and delivers, including a charismatic leading man turn from Adepo. Russell takes a while to fall into his performance but when he does, he makes every scene better. He‚(TM)s particularly well-suited for genre films, and I hope he decides to make more. The script is a little bare, especially when it becomes clear screenwriters Billy Ray and Mark L. Smith have no idea how to end their story. The special effects are good, including some truly nauseating gore effects, and the film effectively uses sound as a vehicle for suspense.

Midnight B-movie fans should still enjoy this blood-soaked, zombie-filled version of ‚Saving Private Ryan.‚? Just don‚(TM)t go in expecting too much.

A SCREEN ZEALOTS REVIEW
November 15, 2018
Whats with the good reviews? This was tame, I mean an 18, really? After a decent intense start parachuting in to France, it then takes far too long get going. When it does the action and gore is few and far between. The acting is hammy, especially that Danish actor playing the Nazi commander. The story is dull, predictable and done many times before. The characters were cliche. Really disappointing when the trailer made it look like a nazi zombie gore-fight fest. Nope. Overlord, over-rated.
November 15, 2018
Overlord es un BaŮo de sangre bien construido que abre una historia impecables de Billy Ray ,sus efectos, actuaciones , personajes y estilo es magistral, cae en cliches necesarios para crear una tension efectiva, su trama es bastante original y permite dar pie al misticismo con el que la ciencia ficciůn se levanta en este film.
November 15, 2018
great movie ,,terror ,action is spectacular
November 15, 2018
Lots of fun, gripping, brutal and gory. The cast was terrific.
Super Reviewer
½ November 15, 2018
It's a rarity that movies like this are made today. Original concepts are either tampered with by a studio or forced to change in order to fit a franchise or set up an entire universe of movies. It's rare that filmmakers in Hollywood (these days) are given complete freedom to create the movie they want to create, or so it seems. Happily, after watching Overlord, I noticed none of that. While the subject matter may not interest a large audience, I believe this movie can be enjoyed by fans of many genres. If you have an open mind, whether you're a fan of war films, sci-fi films, or a good old fashion slasher/horror, I think Overlord may impress you as much as it impressed me. From start to finish, here's why I believe it's very hard for audience members to get bored with this one.

Nearing D-Day, American soldiers are being flown into the battlefield. After their plane is shot down, they form an unlikely ally, while one of them begins to discover that the Nazis have been kidnapping Americans and experimenting on them in bizarre ways. This movie asks a lot of you throughout the second and third acts, as it sets it up as a war film, but pulls the rug out from under you as the movie progresses. As I mentioned, this film is part war, part sci-fi, and part horror, and those genres surprisingly blend together very well and this movie never keeps you waiting. The pacing of this film is easily the aspect that stood out the most to me.

A premise like this can easily be chuckled at, but the fact that it begins as a war film, turns into a sci-fi film, and ends up being a horror movie, makes for a very interesting experience. From the second this film started, I felt riveted. Whether you're into an action sequence, a comedy bit, or on the edge of your seat to see who will make it out alive, there's absolutely no downtime. I'm not saying some movies don't need or deserve to be three hours long, but this is a perfect example of a film that utilizes the perfect amount of time needed to tell its story. Giving just the right amount of characters development to most of the crew, just the right amount of horror to not turn off the action junkies who just came for that, and hardly any drawn-out scenes of characters conversing, at 105 minutes, there isn't a single moment where you can take a break and then come back, not having missed something.

Although Julius Avery does a very solid job in terms of direction, it's the combination of a tight script by Billy Ray and Mark L. Smith and the frenetic editing by Matt Evans that truly shine here. To me, the overall outcome of the pacing of this film originated with those two elements. On top of that, you have a great cast to keep your audience engaged. While I haven't heard of many of these performers in the past, I can see them receiving quite a few jobs in the near future. For what this film was trying to be, I really can't find many things to complain about here.

In the end, Overlord shocked me with how much I actually enjoyed it. The premise itself should make for a bad On Demand release that most people would forget about, but there's a lot of effort put into this movie. The overall story itself may be its biggest issue, due to the fact that there are flaws within the plans of what the Nazis are plotting, but that was a minor nitpick in the grand scheme of things. Personally, I was on the edge of my seat from start to finish and I highly recommend this movie to those who can handle the three genres of war, sci-fi, and horror. Overlord is tightly paced and full of energy.
November 15, 2018
Very exciting WW2 action film. The 'horroresque' twist was intriguing, but not overly surprising. Great pacing all the way through.
November 15, 2018
I wanted to go see a movie and I had just heard that there were theaters at Mall of America again. I decided to try CMX Theatres at Mall of America and I chose this film. I have a soft spot for zombie films, even though I pretty much expected an incredibly bad though hopefully gory little movie. My expectations couldn't have been more wrong. What a very good, possibly great, film (though, admittedly, the luxuriousness of CMX Theatres at Mall of America may have added a bit)! I personally have never heard of any of the actors in the film (though I have, of course, heard of producer J.J. Abrams); but I definitely believe that everyone will be hearing from these young actors for a long, long time to come! Unlike many "zombie" films, the storyline seemed pretty believable ... though I'm not sure I would have referred to it as "a zombie film." All of the American and French characters were quite likable to lovable, and the Nazi characters were all rather unlikable to downright nasty. As in all horror films, likable characters are killed along the way, and when one notable "lovable" character was killed, I actually felt rather sad and teared up a bit. It has much more emotional depth than I would have thought possible in a zombie film. Though I've never heard of any of the actors, I'm guessing they all have a lot of experience under their collective belts. I think I will go see it again. Two thumbs up for the acting, storyline, and production!! I'm off now to research these talented young actors to see what other films and/or television programs they've been in. Go see it in a theater while you can!
November 15, 2018
entertaining movie, beastly at times. overall enjoyable (1 viewing)
November 14, 2018
Well written and tense. Certainly an above average nazi zombie movie.
November 14, 2018
Thanks to a truly shattering opening sequence and a heart shown firmly on its sleeve no matter what gory antics await, Overlord makes up for a lack of scares with some pulse-pounding acting and surprisingly genuine drama.
November 14, 2018
Scary and action oriented from the start, with likable characters and classic movie monster villains. Loved it!
November 14, 2018
This was a good movie with a good and interesting premise. I would have maybe liked to have seen a few more zombies let loose and have some zombie fun, but overall this revisionist take on WW2 was a fun movie.
November 14, 2018
Wow, the action/violence/horror in this movie is pretty intense... not for the squeemish. The opening air drop sequence alone is worth admission, it is absolutely mind blowing. It has a nice build up of "something under the surface aint right" dark vibe from the moment they land through the finale. It's also a very tight story that centers on some very simple themes, one very singular mission, and all hell breaking loose as they journey along it. If you like Horror go see this movie.
November 14, 2018
Best Action Packed Horror Zombie Nazi Wolfenstein Dream Suprise Movie Ever!!!! Awesome visual effects mixed with practical, awesome sound design!!!
Page 1 of 10