Mary Poppins Returns Reviews

Page 1 of 16
January 14, 2019
What Mary Poppins Returns does more than anything is remind us of the greatness of the 1964 original. But the sequel is rambunctious and cheeky, with catchy songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 14, 2019
Mary Poppins Returns delivers a delightful experience that crafts its own magic while remaining faithful to its source material.
January 14, 2019
... nothing less than fun, adventurous, and enchanting... feels like a Mary Poppins story should... dismiss her at your own peril.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 11, 2019
The cast is stacked, starting with Emily Blunt as a pitch-perfect update of Andrews' Poppins.
January 10, 2019
We'll have to wait and see if it turns into a classic, or if it will forever be overshadowed by the original movie. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 10, 2019
Lin-Manuel Miranda of "Hamilton" is excellent in his first film role.
January 9, 2019
It's not a bad movie, but it won't leave a lasting legacy like its predecessor.
January 9, 2019
A pale reflection of the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 9, 2019
A few more knockout songs might've gone a long way, but as is, the movie passes a tough test.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 8, 2019
Because this version is so indebted to the nostalgia associated with the original, to the point where it literally borrows its structure, I can't fathom why I'd want to return to it when the 1964 film is right there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 8, 2019
Ensures we drift off into reverie for those old scenes it's cribbing from instead of making new memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 8, 2019
Emily Blunt (is) the perfect Poppins for this whimsy-filled throwback to a bygone Disney era.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 7, 2019
This "sequel" has no lyrical or dramatic force to speak of. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 7, 2019
It's perhaps most impressive for its apparent effortlessness: laboring mightily to float on air and revealing none of its Herculean efforts in the meantime.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 6, 2019
The delirious, unapologetic lunacy of this film is so completely charming that even my inner cynic just shrugged his shoulders and asked me to pass the popcorn.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 4, 2019
If you have young children, you might consider giving Mary Poppins Returns a chance. I think they will enjoy it. There is less fodder here for adults but perhaps like me, you can distract yourself by admiring the sharp cut and fit of Mary's coats.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 4, 2019
All-in-all, Mary Poppins Returns is as much fun as a complete family film as the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 4, 2019
If you're going to take on an iconic role like Mary Poppins, it doesn't pay to be timid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 4, 2019
Good on Disney for not caving in to the current fear of leaving anything under-explained in family films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 3, 2019
My mouth was sore from smiling so much.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 16