Look Away Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ February 7, 2019
It´┐ 1/2(TM)s not a 5 star because the ending could have been better developed and because the other teen characters were not well developed. I interpret it as the deeply hurt spirit of an aborted or disgarded child coming back to seek justice or healing. Being a twin it comes back through her sister. I see the film as affirming the need to forgive. The regrets that the bad twin starts to have show this. I also see it as showing the importance of loving unconditionally. The mother manifests this. The father is the greatest villain of all the characters even more so than the vengeful daughter. He abandoned his child and denied a mother the opportunity to hold and cherish her other daughter. Finally, I hope the wicked sister gave the other control in the end.
February 6, 2019
Interesting concept presumably about an evil twin taking over the other twin's body. Either that or she had a split personality and the dominant evil part won out in the end. Thought the lead actress Eisley was very good as the bullied teen. One thing that didn't really make sense is why she was bullied. Her best friend was a popular "in" girl who dated the "jock" and she was not at all missing in the looks department being better looking than her best friend, the popular girl. It wasn't that she was from a poor family. Her dad was a rich plastic surgeon and her mom was nice looking as well. So, a Carrie, she was not and why the cool kids would pick on her was hard to believe. The movie was well directed and the acting was good and it made me want to see how it would end. The ending was ambivalent and left you wondering if she got away with it all the mayhem. Didn't quite wrap up what happened to the male ice skater bully that she whacked in the knee. Surely, he would have been noticed that he couldn't walk anymore.
½ January 30, 2019
Look Away is an interesting film. It starts things off with a frankly unsettling series of ultrasound images which seem to indicate a struggle in the womb.

It plays out quiete a bit like Carrie (1978) except in this one the young girl has a "ghost" instead of psychic powers. That ghost lives in the mirror, looks just like young Maria and watches her from her reflection. At first Airam, as she calls herself seeks to council Maria and comfort her. But the suggestion is made clear that this is only an attempt to gain her trust. Their is a foreboding sense to each of these scenes made possible by their aternation with scenes of young Maria's torment at the hands of her distant and critical father, her weak and shrinking violet mother, the school bully (a young man named Mark with a pyschotic propensity to torture Maria publicly and humiliate her) and even her best friend Lily; who is dating Sean, which cute boy
Maria desperately wants.

These scenes of awkward adolescent traima and the growing relationship of dependence between Maria and her reflection build until the clax at the winter dance, where all Maria's tormentors and short-comings collide bringing her to her low point and weakening her enough to let her darker self take over.

Now, up to this point the film does pretty well. It's Oedipal enough to be Erie while still feeling honest and plausable. It's sexual in a way that is mostly uncomfortable but not too distant or forced. The development of pathos for Maria using the bullying from her father and the dickish and immature Mark, who evokes James Spader in his ski-Nazi rape bully roles of the 80's and the set-up of Sean as the
sacrificial lamb, even the characterization of Lily as the wolf in sheep's clothing who suffers Maria only to measure herself against her; they all work well.

But in the film's third act it sort of falls apart. It seeks to convey a vengeful spirit tone but it has elements of pure psychosis that it also tries to develop. The "Airam" version of the FMC begins to make erratic decisions which spiral her life out of control, as she should, but without the commitment to that thread, or the character to call her to grips with the moral consequences such a plot requires, and in the end the film tries for an ending which blends all three ideas ( psychosis, revenge spirit, some amalgam of both) and it doesn't quite work.

The acting is largely excellent and the score and effects are well done. The editing and cinematography also seem well done. The script and director just needed to he bolder. Pick an ending and stick with it.

Nobody wants J.J. Abrams and his mystery box here.

Either do "Carrie" or do "Poison Ivy". Not both.
January 29, 2019
Good performance from India Eisley as Maria, but the movie dragged for too long and the story fell apart towards the end. It could have been much better, but a lot of missed opportunities, so it will be a forgettable movie.
January 27, 2019
Could have went somewhere... but didn't. Yet another modern film with no ending to speak of, just open ended trash. I'm not sure what's been going on the last 3 or so years with every director just not ending their stories, but its getting old.

For what its worth the lead up to absolute nothingness was interesting... it's just a shame there was no conclusion to speak of.

Netflix had this listed under horror... not even remotely scary, and I would argue its borderline "not horror." I didn't feel any suspense or shock watching. You see 3 people die in total, which isn't scary at all - just very mildly macabre.

The quality of the film itself was good, as lame as it turned out to be - atleast it wasn't cheesy with crappy effects (Atleast not by my standards).

I would advise just saving your time. For me the total non-ending dragged this movie down to 2 stars... had they taken the time to properly wrap up the story a bit, I probably would have put it in the 4 star range. These non-ending movies are a total dealbreaker for me.
January 27, 2019
a good movie a good gentle girl that goes bad
January 24, 2019
Not much of a horror movie more of an erotica movie lots of romance and sex scences. A little bit of horror in the beginning but a very creepy and weird movie!
January 21, 2019
Just watched it, and i love it!!!!
Super Reviewer
½ January 20, 2019
Surprisingly well made, a little old hat and very mixed in terms of quality, but an okay viewing experience. Arguably worth the once off, but personally I won't be going back.
January 9, 2019
Hmm. Not sure how this has such high audience ratings and kind of ashamed of myself for watching the whole thing. First of all, 'Airam'? Come on. Then, 'kiss me'? Weird. And prom? Give me a break- pointing and laughing? As if. I just didn't enjoy it.
January 2, 2019
This is definitely a case of ignore the ever pessimistic critics, and take note of the audience score. A strong performance from both Eisley and Sorvino
½ December 29, 2018
I wouldn´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t even rate it 1 star
The most shittest movie I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)ve ever seen. So boring made me fall asleep . LITERALLY!!!!
December 21, 2018
This is a very good and well acted film. It is definitely a cut above the rest of the Hollywood garbage. It keeps a consistent dark ambience throughout. Has not only a horror aspect but deep psychological. Masterfully shot and super art house. If you like really dark and realistic films this is for you. People keep saying its unbelievable that Maria was ugly and how could someone want to treat her that way . Think about it that is when people treat you the worst when they are jealous of you or see potential . The bullying is to try to hold you down and to boost their self esteem. Especially if they are attracted to you and you show no interest or they feel they don't have a shot. This film has no jokes or lighthearted moments whatsoever. It's a super serious film but completely done in a unique way. The film is nonrated so this is definitely not for teens or children. Very raw elements here and tons of sexuality and very sensual scenes. India Eisleys performance was jaw dropping and convincing. I hate that these types of films are not recognized for it's creativeness. Go into this knowing that this is actually two different people possibly or a split personality. Or that this could be her having a mental breakdown and absorbing the past out of angst ( without spoilers). I was kinda clueless if there were actually two entities or if it was all in her head . Clearly this is one of the darkness films I've enjoyed in a while. I guess you can say without spoilers. She took the life that she never had and made the most out of it. The film is slow but I prefer to understand everything before the action kicks in. Which is what Hollywood tends to not focus on. By the time you get to the climax you are fully invested in the character. I do want to add this important detail . No lights is recommended and have a date on standby! The cinematography is definitely worth A Blu-ray release. Please consider a bluray release for this frame by frame this was a intriguing film visually .
December 18, 2018
ever wondered if you had an evil twin? the basis of this thriller that has some cool moments, even though Mira is kinda wasted. the evil twin is truly psycho - and entertaining
½ December 12, 2018
So glad I didn't let the critics steer me clear, this movie was awesome. India Eisley was truly incredible in this.
½ December 12, 2018
This is a really bad teenage "horror" (more like thriller). Its neither scary nor suspenseful. The big picture of the movie is figured out within the first ten minutes leaving the only question to be exactly how do said events play out (which is not interesting at all). Can't blame the acting here, as its decent considering who was casted. There is also a central recurring issue of having the main character ((who looks 16 at the most) be naked/topless so many times. I understand art but this just seemed out of place. Overall a uninteresting bad movie that doesn't scare or drum up suspense.
½ December 6, 2018
Could have been better, sure but whatever, Good enough for me to watch Look Away twice.
½ November 26, 2018
Eisley is a promising young actor, I liked her performance a lot. The main problem with this film is that none of the other characters feel dimensional. A lot of time is spent padding out a thin story that would have been better spent filling out characters so it wouldn't feel like one tormented girl walking among teenage zombies.
November 21, 2018
it's ok not the best
November 9, 2018
Has an interesting concept but wasn't as sinister as I wear hoping. It was a bit tedious at times and I felt the main character was too pretty to be bullied like she was.
Page 1 of 3