If Beale Street Could Talk Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ January 18, 2019
What's with the high ratings? Way too long, still don't why I did not walk out. I've only walked out on 1 movie in the past two years and this one became really close to being the second. Dreadfully slow and boring.
January 18, 2019
Slowwwww and boringgggggg!
½ January 18, 2019
Excruciatingly SLOW. Movie keeps going and going and going...and then it just ends. Important social topic for sure, but the scenes are long and repetive. You wait for SOMETHING to happen, but never does. Wanted to love this movie but it was painful to sit there and feel like nothing is happening.
January 18, 2019
Tackling James Baldwin? Justice and more was done. This is a beautifully done film with people you understand so well, and love, and the camera does amazing things to make this a brilliant film. It's my favorite American film of the year and never to be forgotten.
January 18, 2019
Incredibly slow paced movie. You're basically waiting for something to happen, and the plot keeps dragging.
January 17, 2019
More impactful than we expected. You don't really "enjoy" this movie as you are moved by it.
January 17, 2019
Outstanding depiction of a Time, and sense of place. A love story with no Hollywood ending. Left the theater feeling I easily got my moneys worth. Gotta side with the positive Pro reviews here for this one.
Cinematography didn't match Roma, but I liked this one much better overall. Maybe due to it being in English? Anyway, I briefly thought of Roma during the movie, due to current awards season, etc. (A Star is Born and Greenbook are also better than Roma, IMO)
½ January 17, 2019
Needed about 30 minutes edited out. Still a really good flick.
January 16, 2019
The two main characters and their arc are what make this story both endearing and heart-wrenching.
½ January 16, 2019
Very worthy and important story, appealing and skilled actors, depicting loving, strong and family, as well as the leading couple,who are all just trying to live worthwhile lives in a demanding, segregated society, and come up against more than injustice, pure evil. But something is just lacking in the overall direction, too flat for a topic still so important today.
January 16, 2019
Powerful movie set in the 70's but sadly rings true of the many sides of racism that still exist, especially when it comes to incarceration.
January 15, 2019
What a movie. This would have easily made my top ten films of 2018 if I had caught it during its limited release. Director Barry Jenkins last film Moonlight (2016) was one of my favorites of that year and here he goes starting to easily become one of my favorite newer directors. Based on the 1974 novel of the same name by James Baldwin If Beale Street Could Talk is a love story about a young lady named Tish Rivers (KiKi Layne) who at the age of 19 is pregnant with her fiance Fonny (Stephan James). The problem is Fonny is in prison for a crime he did not do (and couldn't have possible done). The film is set in the early 1970's and there's a lot of racial prejudice going on and Fonny and Tish are just experiencing it first hand. Along with her mother Sharon (Regina King) and father Joseph (Colman Domingo) Tish works hard to try and get Fonny out of jail before the birth of their child. That's the story in a nutshell. We get voiceover from Tish explaining how life is, how her love for Fonny started, and just about everything leading up to Fonny's arrest. I don't say this too often, but this is a downright beautiful movie. It's one of those movies that you're going to think about for days after. It's a movie that goes over love. How powerful love can be between two people to get you through the hardest times in life. It shows sections and moments that I can only describe as absolutely breathtaking and something thats just relatable. On the flip side the movie also powerfully goes over how crooked the system was and is for people of color. Fonny is caught up in some straight BS. He is targeted by a racist cop and it basically ruins his damn life. It's frustrating and very angering, but that's part of the beauty of this film. Barry Jenkins takes you on a roller coaster of emotions. One moment your in awe because you're witnessing some beautiful love story then it brings you back down because then you're witnessing a girl get attacked. It's hard to explain, but it just works so well and I have to commend Jenkins on the direction this movie takes. The cinematography is wonderful here. I literally loved the way things are shot. There are a lot of direct on head shots as though the characters are looking right at you. It just makes you feel what's going on. It immersed me a lot into the film and I liked all the characters even more. Not to mention the lightning in this movie is great and I never bring that up. Two scenes in particular stood out. When Tish and Fonny get approved for a new home and are celebrating on the street...I kid you not maybe the best lighting I've ever seen to set the mood just damn right. I'm a sucker for any kind of movie shot during dawn (American Graffiti (1973) always comes to mind) and this was a prime example of it done right as well as the scene where Sharon goes to Puerto Rico. Lastly the performances. Newcomer KiKi Layne was great in this one and I really felt for her, but Stephan James as Fonny was fantastic. I recall him being in Selma (2015) and that's about it, but I enjoyed all of his scenes. He has a very powerful kind of aura to him that bleeds through to his character it's all very believable. One more special shoutout was Colman Domingo as Joseph Rivers (Tish's father) he was fantastic and I hope to see more of him in movies like this. Overall, if you couldn't tell this is one of those films that is sad, but it's sad and beautiful in it's own way. I can't recommend it enough. Check it out.
½ January 15, 2019
Acclaimed director Barry Jenkins follows up his 2016 Best Picture winner "Moonlight" with this adaptation of author James Baldwin's "If Beale Street Could Talk." It's a film that ultimately isn't as hard-hitting or as unforgettable as other pieces about institutional oppression have been in recent cinematic history (i.e. "Boy Erased," "12 Years A Slave," etc.) Though, that doesn't mean it's not without its own specific merits. The acting -- for the most part -- is fine, the intention is solid, and the presentation is appropriately artful. Overall, it may just be a good film struggling mightily to be great. But that doesn't take away from the very clear "good" that exists within it.
January 15, 2019
Slow, intimate, beautiful, love.
January 15, 2019
Boring, slow, music awful, story not developed and just plain not interesting
January 15, 2019
I guess it was okay. I absolutely love black film in regards to black love, black history, I just love it all. So I was so excited to see this film, but what I got wasn´┐ 1/2(TM)t what I expected by a long shot. Okay two young black teens fall in love and have a child, the young man is held victim by your corrupted racist policemen and lack of justice system. He takes a plea, like every other black man in the system. The same story line holds true for hundreds of black men, going back decades!! But that´┐ 1/2(TM)s it...what else!!! We already knew this, I feel like the story line and plot could´┐ 1/2(TM)ve did a lot better. It took forever to ge the movie going in the first place, but when it got going it was over in the blink of an eye. So yeah, eeeh. Regina King is my girl, and I will always support, but this didn´┐ 1/2(TM)t make the classic movie list for me.
½ January 14, 2019
Beautiful movie, but oh, so, s-l-o-w.
January 14, 2019
This movie is one of the worst constructed films I have seen in the last 10 years. It's shameful to see such talent wasted
January 14, 2019
Think will be great movie from real life. I will watch that movie using boxxy software app, it's free.
January 13, 2019
If you love a Spike Lee Joint, you'll love this movie.
Page 1 of 6