Holmes and Watson Reviews

Page 1 of 55
½ January 18, 2019
Worst film I have ever seen....
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2019
For a moment I was trying to decide if Holmes and Watson is the worst movie I have ever seen. It was a brief moment. I have seen so many terrible B-movies and action flicks that amounted to fuck all, that this low-brow and forgettable piece of trash is quickly disqualified for that ignominious award. It's not even the worst thing Will Ferrell or John C. Reilly have put out. But it REALLY sticks in the craw for me in such a hateful manner. This movie fucked with the wrong loser.

Oh good God. There is no real plot here. Not that it mattered. No, this is a series of things that happen. Those things being two aging comedians screaming at each other like autistic children until someone yelled cut. The rough idea (I guess) was that someone REALLY wanted to satirize the Guy Ritchie directed Sherlock Holmes films with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law. Aside from the fact this movie is almost a decade too late on that front, it ignores the fact that those movies already WERE action comedies that had no problem making fun of their own premise and ridiculous steampunk tone. You were in on the joke AND you still had an interesting story and great chemistry between the main leads. And if you wanted a more serious and cerebral modern take on the classic character, you had the BBC series to fill your time. The other idea that led to this disaster was the history between Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly, which included cult favorites such as Talladega Nights and Step Brothers. And yeah that dynamic is there, buried beneath all the shit. There are a couple of jokes that work and Ferrell's English accent is not as terrible as one would assume.

But the rest is PAINFULLY unfunny. Aside from yelling all of their lines, overuse of the gag about Sherlock Holmes being able to calculate (or rather failing to calculate) the mathematics of a fight, jokes about how Watson REALLY wants to bang old Queen Victoria, there are numerous moments in which we are supposed to laugh at cocaine and heroin use. HEY GUYS! DID YOU KNOW THEY DID HARD DRUGS IN THE NINETEENTH CENTURY AND DIDN'T KNOW HOW DANGEROUS THEY WERE?! WIKIPEDIA SAID IT WAS IN THE BOOKS! PEOPLE IN OLDEN TIMES WERE SOOOOOO STUPID, UNLIKE NOW!!!

I think there is one teachable moment in this dumpster fire. In one scene, Holmes and Watson visit the morgue. Watson asks the World's Greatest Detective if he will be queasy again at the sight of dead bodies. It was at this moment the horror of this joke dawned on me. They are going to make Sherlock Holmes into a stock Will Farrell character for the sake of an overlong vomit joke. Sure enough, he vomits uncontrollably for the next five minutes and can't even get past the lobby. He then flirts with a mute woman and Watson hits on a doctor while they perform an erotic autopsy. What I'm getting at here, is that good satire operates within the rules and world of the IP or topic they are deconstructing. Sherlock Holmes has pulled apart corpses and put them back together for fun. He has spent many a night in rooms FILLED WITH THEM. You are telling me that no comedic writer can get mileage out of THAT weird shit? By acknowledging the source material (and actually understanding it) you can properly take it apart for laughs. For good examples of this, see Mel Brooks' filmography, The LEGO Batman movie, and the first Austin Powers entry. Needless to say, this was where this movie pretty much died for me, long before we have Queen Victoria performing an opening ceremony on the Titanic so we can get a Billy Zane joke. (Yep. That happened.) Fuck this movie. And fuck the people that made it. Netflix didn't want this piece of shit. Think about that. They had no choice but to release it into theaters knowing it would bomb on all fronts. Perhaps the use of the Titanic was appropriate after all.
½ January 17, 2019
Holyshit why??? Who ever made this junk and convinced the two good actors that this would upto the standards of an even decent comedy. They need to apply to a fast food place for a line of work. Wow im a stoner looking forward to something like step brothers....sadly disappointed.
January 15, 2019
If reviews are so extreme, either 1/2 star or 5 stars, you know the 5's are fake! Must be crap.
½ January 15, 2019
Garbage, I had to make an account just to express my extreme displeasure in this movie
January 15, 2019
Delighted! As a Farrell and Reilly movie, one of their weaker efforts. As a Sherlock Holmes parody, well done! Not a classic, but a welcome addition to the lineup.
January 15, 2019
At first, I thought this film might be ok. I was wrong. Firstly for a comedy, there were a few funny jokes. I've never had anything against Will Ferrel or John Reilly but this has to be there worst film together yet. Secondly,? from the view of a British person, I felt this was partly to make fun of us. Why would you cast two American actors to cast British roles? Then they said the Queen ruled us. The Monarchs power has been reducing since 1215 of the signing of the Magna Carta. The queen had almost no power in this era and since. Lastly, they did almost no research. Some people may say it's not important but saying that Queen Victoria went on the Titanic is a catastrophic mistake. Queen Victoria died in 1901 and the Titanic set sail in 1912. In conclusion, it's a terrible film and I should have watched wreck it, Ralph.
January 15, 2019
Once again, the critics miss the point of this (yes) stupid, ridiculous, but totally laugh out loud cheese-fest. In the same vein as Dumb and Dumber, Hot Rod, and some of the most funny movies ever made, Holmes and Watson is classic stupid-funny. My girlfriend and I, (both educated with advanced degrees and both self-appointed film snobs) saw this together and both of us could not stop laughing through almost the entire movie. Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly are in top form playing the ridiculous man-child bits to their most ridiculous end. Don't believe the critics. If you tend to like Will Ferrell I think the odds are very good you'll like Holmes and Watson.
January 15, 2019
I saw this on a whim with absolutely no idea of the terrible ratings, and found it absolutely hilarious. A lot of the jokes are quite silly and the whole movie doesn't seem to take itself seriously, which I can understand turned a lot of people off, but I found refreshing and amusing! Quite a few jokes are actually very intelligent, and others cleverly concealed and slipped in. If you stop paying proper attention early on you'll definitely miss some of the jokes (headlines and signs flashing across the screen or in the background, witty one-liners, etc). The comedy is stupid in the best possible way and the whole thing wraps up nicely to be good fun and a good laugh, if you're willing to give it half a chance.
January 15, 2019
Not nearly as funny as I thought it would be . I did laugh a few times but the movie seemed to drag out a bit .
½ January 15, 2019
This movie is silly and funny. What more do you want?
I think there may have been some poor choices in editing, or some other parts of this film. John C.Reilly And Will Ferrell deliver. I wish there had been more slapstick humor and more silliness. If there is anything they could have changed it would be, to have been more over the top. I enjoyed this movie and I love the work of every actor in it. Laugh out loud funny. Maybe not non stop laughs, but it was fun!
January 14, 2019
Human Centipede is a masterpiece compared to this.
January 14, 2019
I was sad and this movie raised me up. It's enough for me. I'm completely satisfied with it
January 14, 2019
The reviews had me leaning towards waiting the few weeks it would take for this movie to hit Netflix. I was convinced to see it with the argument that most people have opinions that do not reflect my own.
I found this to be one of, if not the, best Ferrell / Reilly comedies. The critics have unfairly judged this film, perhaps it didn't hack on Donald Trump enough to warrant a good review. Bottom line, if you like your jokes fed to you like pablum flying in on a pretend aeroplane, this may not be your cup of tea. If you have an IQ north of 99, you will probably find it quite funny.
½ January 14, 2019
Crude humor and sexual innuendo made this movie offensive!
January 13, 2019
I think this is a matter of expectations. Because people had huge expectations for this movie, they are disappointed and hating on it. Based on the terrible reviews, I had very low expectations and loved it. Yeah, it is kooky and most of it makes no sense ... just like Talladega Nights and Step Brothers. I found the jokes to great and perfectly timed. Full of belly laughs. I had a great time and want to see more from this duo! Remember, if you don't give them love when they make a movie together they will stop making them.
January 13, 2019
This movie is not a masterpiece, but I liked the acting, and the main duo a lot. It's fun at times, easy to watch and entertaining, and that's enough.
January 13, 2019
This was by far their worse movie....
½ January 13, 2019
One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time
January 13, 2019
While apparently not appreciated today, the movie will become a classic "remember when" cinema touchstone.
Page 1 of 55