Halloween Reviews

Page 1 of 81
½ January 21, 2019
I never saw the other ones but this was very terrible. The characters are so unlikable and it relies on the wow factor so get you through to the next scene. Don't waste your time. I'm still mad.
January 21, 2019
The great scenes with unique comedy and music remixing make up for the lack of scares.
January 21, 2019
Movie was terrible - this review will contain spoilers.
Cinematography was fine - music, acting, and slasher style were pretty ordinary but undoubtedly competent. What ruined this movie falls into two main categories - 1. Placing more emphasis on SJW feminism than substance, and 2. Ridiculous plot devices devoid of subtlety.
1. On the first point, as is the case with the vast majority of Hollywood movies nowadays, the identity of the characters and their development in the story adhere strictly to a feminist / SJW narrative of overcoming the oppressive white patriarchy. I first noticed this in the movie when a man and his son happened upon the crashed bus Michael Meyers had escaped from. The brief conversation between the man and his son before encountering the bus went vaguely as follows - "Dad, do we really have to go hunting today? I want to go to dance practice." "Son, you really want to do dancing? Why don't you want to do somethin manly like huntin' and fishing'?" - Okay, so clearly they're using a common trope in horror films- demonstrate a character flaw before that character gets killed, so the viewer sort of sees it as justified. This old man was an "instrument of oppressive gender norms" so it was clear as day at that point that he was going to be killed and that the movie producers were conveying his "backward" gender conception is his character flaw death sentence. I then began noticing this social justice bent a little more and saw it everywhere - the boyfriend was a dumb cheater who destroyed her phone when she found out, the lovable male friend crossed the line and tried to kiss her, the dad was largely insensitive and callous, all of the male cops were incompetent... All of the male characters were either idiots, ethically questionable, downright evil or some combination of the three, while on the other hand, the females in this movie never demonstrated flaws or weakness. Laurie was sort of "flawed" in her obsession with Michael Meyers, but the viewer doesn't really believe it to be a flaw, since we know Meyers will be on the loose and sure enough he escapes and the other characters learn, as we've known all along, "she's not so crazy after all." And all other females are perfect in pretty much every way, with the movie culminating with the three women (who didn't mourn the murdered father AT ALL) being badass, brave warriors who confront and defeat the evil with their superior intellect and tenacity. Sooooo typical of modern feminism contaminating plots. There's nothing wrong in society with women reaching their potentials, and I don't think women ought to be held back, but it's nauseating and insulting to have that message forced down our throats with every major Hollywood movie. We get it! Not only is it insulting, but it's reducing the effectiveness of your movie. Horror movies are good because their protagonists are vulnerable, not because they're fearless heroes.

2. Here are some of my problems with the caveman-like plot devices used to get from point A to point B in this movie. First, Laurie has been so traumatized by what happened 40 years ago that she still thinks about it all day every day. I'm sorry, but that's completely unrealistic. People recover from trauma. Even if they maintain deep emotional scars, they will eventually recover. Many people have undergone trauma that is far, far worse than what Laurie went through, and they go on to lead normal lives in the vast majority of cases. Sure, some people might be predisposed to mental disorders, but in this movie, Laurie's strange paranoia is meant to convey just how SCARY Michale Meyers is. She was REALLY traumatized, ok guys! While that little plot device is meant to make me fear Michael Meyers, it really just makes me not believe what they're saying about Laurie's character.

Some of the murders were genuinely unexpected though, and for that the film deserves some credit. I couldn't believe they killed off the two journalists so early, and I know some other reviewers have called that lazy. Maybe it is but it worked for me, since killing such main characters is unexpected and makes me think the director means business. Similarly, when the babysitter is about to get killed, I expected the little boy to save her, but he didn't. It reminded me that the director meant business, but as this went on, I started to realize that everyone but the most major characters were likely to get stabbed.

How in the hell Laurie could have known that her little kitchen trap door thing would someday be used to trap Michael? That's so ridiculous! It was stocked with food and guns as if it was a bomb shelter to be used for hiding, and she even puts her precious daughter in there to protect her. And then the twist is like, just kidding, it was an offensive trap. Then why did you stock it with food? Why did you hide your daughter in it? How could you have possibly known events would transpire in such a way as to get Michael in the cellar? It's so unlikely and logistically ridiculous.

I could go on, but I've made the points that I wanted to make, and my fingers are getting tired. Don't waste your money on this movie.
January 21, 2019
Some cool and somewhat scary scenes, but SO MANY mistakes are made in the writing, direction and delivery of a bunch of it. It was an entertaining watch though.
January 21, 2019
I am not much of a Halloween fan. But this is the best Micheal Myers film since the first one. I love the character Laurie Strode. This movie reminded my of Sarah Conner from the first two Terminator film. Both of these women began as ladies in need of help from their killers, to strong women prepared to confront their killer face on. Awesome character arch.
½ January 20, 2019
Reviewed it back when I first saw it, but now that I got the blu ray, and rewatched it a couple times, feel like going over it again.
Simply put, this is the best Halloween sequel. It's better then the first Halloween 2 (and yes, this film may be just called Halloween, but it's really the third Halloween 2), better then H20, better then Rob Zombie's remake, this is, imo, the best slasher movie since the original Halloween.
The characters were well written, it was suspenseful like the original Halloween, with some humorous moments (Yes a horror film with humor, sometimes it's needed to give the audience a break and take a breather)
All the actors did a top-notch job, especially Jamie Lee Curtis, Laurie Strode in this movie, is one badass old lady, and it's awesome
I am optimistic about the sequel to this one, especially with all the same people behind it. But even if something goes wrong, this one and the original, do make a great two-part story. Highly recommend it, just make sure you watch the original movie first.
January 20, 2019
Loved this one kept the story fresh!
January 20, 2019
I know this was well received, but for me and others I know, it was a let down. The story was predictable as were the supposedly scary scenes. I re-watched H20 and thought that was MUCH better.
January 20, 2019
Not even close to the original in terms of quality but with the crap that came after the first movie....I'll take it.
January 20, 2019
A phenomenal sequel, Halloween adds a new stylish horror and slasher ingredients that makes it absolutely well made!
January 20, 2019
For what it is , it is great :)
January 19, 2019
This movie did a great job at making Michael Myers scary again and Jamie Lee Curtis did a great job portraying Laurie Strode.
January 19, 2019
the amount of stupidity in this movie is astonishing. i laughed so hard at so many parts. it's not scary and it's really really dumb. they seem like they wanted to capture the feel of the originals. if part of that was using old horror movie absurd logic and idiocracy, they succeeded. this movie is poorly made on so many levels. the positives: musical score was great, and it seemed relatively competent for a while, investing me in the story before showing its true face. hilariocity score = 4.0 (1 viewing)


SPOILERS


bro. just bro. there was a scene where he stomped a guys face to smithereens, and in the next shot his face was in tact with his brains coming out of the top. i went back to confirm, in the original shot his entire head was liquefied lmao.

apparently cop cars in that town have super tinted windows where even if the light is on inside the car, you can't see anything. except the glowing eye- and mouth-holes of the severed head inside the car. HOW?!?! he opens the door and you can clearly see everything well lit in the car. plus the way he had the flashlight in dude's severed head, he would have had to remove the brain, tongue and all tissue from his head. he looked like he did it with surgical precision.

the dad discovered said dead cops because he was chilling outside. just hanging out. when there is a murderer on the loose. when the grandma is inside turning off all the lights. scolding her daughter for having the light on. but hanging out outside? no problem.

and the best part? the "twist" rofl rofl. the mom tells the grandma about the underground layer being "a cage." grandma responds it's not a cage. later the daughter gets there, goes underground, and for some random reason cries "i'm in a cage." ..... ....... like..... for real? once michael meyers is down there, they close the bars on the entrance and light the room on fire to kill him. the mom tells the daughter "it's not a cage, it's a trap!" lolololololololololololololololol. i yelled OMG. also, once you block the entrance with bars, it actually kind of is a cage right? smh horrendous. oh and right before that, the grandma said "happy halloween michael" and stabbed him. just wow
½ January 19, 2019
Well, they tried, they really tried, maybe too hard. There were some cool parallels between this and the original...keeping the opening credits, the scene with all the escaped loonies walking around, the dead guy being held up by a big knife- but it lacks the originality and the rawness of the first film. There are also glaring plot holes. No explanation on how Laurie Strode affords the seemingly huge amount of land that's gated like a prison and a personal security system that includes her very own panic room which comes with a small arsenal of guns and ammunition. They don't show how Michael escapes for the second time. You don't get to see a lot of the kills and some of them serve no purpose and don't connect with the rest of the movie. In the original Michael killed for one reason: to get to Laurie. All of his kills lead up to him finding and trying to kill her. And hello? They leave the douchey boyfriend alive? Come on. And why all the quick shots of the side and back of Michael's head? One of the best and scariest things about him is that you never get to see his face. But now, when he's in his golden years and is all grey and wrinkled and looks like my grampa, that's when we get to see him?! Did you think that would save this movie? Well, it didn't. Even the very haggard looking Jamie Lee Curtis didn't save this. I really wanted to like this movie, but it was just so meh. Other than the last 20 minutes or so, largely forgettable. Pleeeaaase stop trying to remake franchise. Just let it be done.
½ January 18, 2019
Should've left off from Halloween h20 . Disappointed.
Super Reviewer
January 18, 2019
It's enamored with the original but without any of the clever voyeurism that made that movie so effective. Still, Curtis is outstanding and I like how the mythology is reduced to the bare essentials.
January 18, 2019
A true Sequel to Halloween. It brings back the Halloween Feeling, But being it own movie, Jamie Lee Curtis brings it her all, amazing performance. The cinematography is one of the best yet. Its a must see
January 18, 2019
On top of the fact that the film offers several perfectly timed jumpscares, Jamie Lee Curtis does an outstanding job at playing Laurie 40 years later. Another nice touch is how some scenes in this film are really similar to the original, it's these little details that make the film shine.
½ January 17, 2019
Horrible movie!!! Had no story line, was jumping everywhere throughout the movie. Most of the time you don´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t know
what happens to the other characters, also had horrible acting. I don´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t know how it got a 79% on here. One of the worst movies I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)ve ever seen. Sorry for being brutally honest.
January 17, 2019
It was done really well! Michael Myers is as cold as ice in this film. Best one in the series since Rob Zombie's Halloween in 2007.
Page 1 of 81