Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 110
½ January 15, 2019
The CGI critters had more personality than the saltine cracker characters we're being forced to follow. Fantastic Beasts might look like HP but it doesn't have a soul.
Even with all the jarring editing, they somehow still managed to make it a boring movie that didn't go anywhere. These movies also need a visual overhaul. David Yates has this awful habit of making the movies too dark and murky which makes it hard to see what's happening on the screen or making everything dull and washed out. The movies are horrid to look at.
January 15, 2019
So not your time, unless your live and die HP. Poor story telling, so-s- acting.
½ January 15, 2019
Great story building, and an amazing spectacle on screen, probably my favorite Harry Potter movie of all time! This made me a huge Fantastic Beasts fan then a true Harry Potter fan, as this is all-new and interesting and not like the boring Half-Blood Prince...

9/10 - Excellent
January 14, 2019
Many people are complaining about there being very little plot although that is mostly true it is still very entertaining to any fan of the Harry Potter series. To revisit Hogwarts, to see young Dumbledore, and Though I was quite sceptical of Jonny Depp as Griduwald at first he did abousolutly amazing. Every scene with Depp has me on the edge of my seat. The plot is based around Credence finding who he is would not be entertaining for someone who is a new comer to the series is very exciting for a long time fan like myself, and the final reveal at the end is great. There are many timeline problems which is a little frustrating until I realized that this Is Rowlings world. Who are we to question the time line invented by herself. If there is one thing I have learned from her it's to trust that she knows what she is doing. The end scene is one of the best action senses of any Harry Potter film and the ending leaves you wanting so much more. Overall this was a nessisary set up for the upcoming films and it is a great watch for any Potter head, but for someone unfamiliar to the franchise will be bored and confused and for that reason I give it four stars.
½ January 14, 2019
The Crimes of Grindelwald continues to prove the strength of this brand but in similar fashion to the worlds created in the Hobbit and Star Wars movies we are sometimes dumbfounded by a massive cast of characters all with their own story. The strength lies with our main cast who do a great job, Depp stands out amongst them, but his opening and closing scenes give the villain the respect he deserves. David Yates opens the world up visually, Newton Howard continues with a enchanting soundtrack while JK continues to give the story the gravitas it deserves with a strong unfolding mystery element. Where this falters is when story is simply told to the viewer and characters involvement leave you wondering why they are even there in the first place...
January 14, 2019
The spectacular animals, settings, and costumes and Johnny Depp's excellent performance can't save this one from the unlikeable characters and the boring, convoluted plot. Too many bland characters locked in forgettable relationships weigh the film down. Newt is too much of a Beta even to care about. Don't waste your money and watch with boxxy software app.
January 13, 2019
Really enjoyed the film, but got the feeling it was setting the scene for the next film, rather being a stand alone film with it's own storyline.
January 13, 2019
I loved this but i am a massive fan of fantastic beasts ans where to find them.
The graphics are beautiful and i believe the story line is very well written.
I feel a must see.
January 13, 2019
Unlike the singularity in installments of a book series, the "Fantastic Beasts" series expanded the in-canon textbook for the exclusive storytelling being told through the cinematic platform after experiencing both literature and after a theatrical stage play. Furthermore, the singular expansive "book" that is being divided into five films is still in progress with the writing still in development and the reading following the available pacing. With prior acknowledgement of understanding after the expositional chapter the starter film begun as with its own footing, "The Crimes of Grindelwald" casted an exhilarating spell in really pushing the story forward but the cinematic lens exposes the setbacks.

At the second-fifth of the in-progress book, the powerful dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald escaped custody and grows his cause further with gathering followers in raising pure-blood wizards to rule over all non-magical beings. Since he had a troublesome hand in help capturing Grindelwald in the previous chapter, Newt Scamander is tasked to look out for the potential dark lord by Hogwarts' Professor Albus Dumbledore while dealing with the resurfaced past.

When thinking about it afterwards, the positional flow still maintain the aforementioned expected pacing despite few distractive and suddenly-developed plot points. Comparing this particular storyline to the previous chapter not only pushes the story further but is mostly a filler while increasing the characterization for pivotal reasons in the coming chapters. Newt Scamander carries the protagonist's torch as the main focus of the prequel series, only to get mostly distracted in his romantic pursuit as the main reason over Dumbledore's assignment which coincidently aligns before interconnecting into one before the second-half. Meanwhile, Grindelwald, the antagonistic opposite, has actual plot development over the film's course.

J.K. Rowling's writing remains visionary as ever with reminiscing magic and fresh additional depth that expands and embraces across her single-handedly written Wizarding World with a sense of cultural representation, as well diversity. While her writing is at a steady pace in continuation in between the first and third chapter, it's the actual flawed direction from the unbalanced focus like director David Yates, who have directed since "Order of the Phoenix", felt the need to give the main plotline focus to the main protagonist. However, he managed to actually make this chapter exhilarating by putting in surprising thrills and radiance, as well tonal familiarity throughout the narrative, reflecting the magic from wondrous displays of the visually-created beasts and thrills to James Newton Howard's amped up score to the particularity of the production designs, namely the return to Hogwarts that will delight fans with nostalgia.

Receiving a bigger spotlight for more developmental exposure, Johnny Depp shines as the titular antagonist, proving that his controversial casting wasn't a problem while adding another prolific character in his eccentric range of acting. His actual opposite is Jude Law as the young Dumbledore who also performed perfectly but seemingly more like a young Michael Gambon than Richard Harris. As Newt's story gets dragged into the distant though inevitable bout between the two powerful wizards, Redmayne returned with his frequently experienced peculiarity, but not enough to claim the main spotlight like before.

"Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald" brought the prequel series much closer to the Harry Potter portion of the wizarding history rather than a standalone that the starter proposed an impression of; and that is okay considering the understanding of this chapter's positional flow of Rowling's in-progress "book". Overall aside from the unbalanced focus with the directed exhilaration, fine performances and flawless writing, the entertainment value is moderately spellbinding. (B+)
January 12, 2019
A wonderful movie! Filled with much action and adventure and gives a very strong "Harry Potter" feel. The addition of Hogwarts to the movie brought a sense of nostalgia and allows the audience to become curious about what Hogwarts was like before Voldemort and the Harry Potter trilogy.
Even though the movie does remind the audience of the old movies, people who are tired of watching the original trilogy over and over again experience a new world with Newt Scamander as he travels through different countries.
I suggest everyone who liked the Harry Potter movies as well as the people who disliked it watch this movie.
January 12, 2019
The setting and attention to detail is exquisite, although the same can not be said for the
overall plot line. There are too many newly introduced characters to allow scope for
proper development and it disrupts the flow of the movie. The required depth of reading
through the lines is far more complex than that of the Harry Potter franchise.
January 11, 2019
Throw it in the trash!
January 11, 2019
This might just be the most HEARTLESS, convoluted MESS I've ever seen!
January 11, 2019
Its over for the HP franchise.
½ January 11, 2019
It focuses too much on an uninteresting story. Theres no charm or humour from the first and its all complete nonsense. Such as shame as it was exciting and the first was really promising.
January 11, 2019
Visually the WB-studios spared no expense, even though some settings clearly seem wrong (personally I felt that the rather recognisable Highgate Cemetery in London was a bizarre substitute for the Parisian Pere Lachaise, but I'm guessing it was closer and more convenient?).
The acting is still strong, but the story has a selection of unconventional plot twists that (to me) seemed painfully far-fetched or downright wrong... I love the Wizarding World, but I'm having difficulty accepting this chapter to be fully part of it, unless parts of it are an elaborate ruse.
January 10, 2019
I loved this movie, I feel why people might not like it is because they are not searching for answers about the Wizarding World as much as I was. So many mysteries and mind-boggling questions new and old characters, great cast, BEAUTIFUL music, and great effects. This is my theory for why critics and people might not like this as much, obviously, if you are a muggle and only know a little bit about Harry Potter, of course, you are going to be confused but if you are really invested in this series and are searching for more information about the wizarding world then is this the movie for you. I found this an enjoyable movie so much that I wanted to watch it all over again once the movie was done (and I did but three days later) you can tell how obsessed I am with this movie if I am still can't stop thinking about it three months after it came out! Please tell me why you liked it or didn't like it I am very interested, I'd like to end with a few words. nitwit blubber oddment tweak!
½ January 10, 2019
It was super fucking boring and gay
½ January 9, 2019
It made for an entertaining watch, though not much more. J.K. Rowling should write more books and fewer movies, though the latter is more profitable and the former much riskier.
Page 1 of 110