Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 14
November 16, 2018
I was a little nervous when I saw the critic reviews. I'm a big Harry Potter/Wizarding World fan and didn't want to be disappointed. All of my fears were put to rest starting from the first scene of the movie. It was absolutely fantastic. For starters, there's a few incredible and visually stunning action scenes throughout the movie. This movie also has, what I believe is, the darkest scene from any Wizarding World story so far. The plot takes all of the characters, old and new, on a wonderful journey throughout so many different areas of the Wizarding World and it all comes together in great J. K. Rowling fashion. And then there's Dumbledore. Dumbledore is one of my favorite literary characters of all time and seeing a younger version of him was something I really wanted to go well. A+ to Jude Law. My biggest dissapointment of this movie was that I wish he had more scenes. Much of the movie is spent with a few questions in the air and the anticipation of discovering their answers serves the story well.
Overall, I am so happy with how this movie turned out. I may need to see it again to know definitively (and I most certainly will), but I actually think I liked it more than the first one. I enjoyed it from start to finish and it had me captivated at every second. It ends with a few twists that beg the question of what happens next, and I certainly can't wait to find out.
November 16, 2018
The movie is a true delight for Potterheads. I love where this story is heading and all the new details added. I'm craving more!
November 16, 2018
Really good film !!!
November 16, 2018
Needs more magic and comedy
November 16, 2018
Saw it! There was a lot of information and a lot to be excited for! It has Empire Strikes Back feel to it! Will see it again!
½ November 16, 2018
Fantastic Beasts is so focused on setting up for a third movie that it doesn't care if it loses its magic along the way. Make no mistake, this is not a fun, entertaining, feel-good movie. It is darker and grittier installment loaded down with backstory, crammed full of plot lines that lead nowhere and marked by "plot twists" usually only found in soap operas. The characters of Newt, Grindelwald and Dumbledore, the only redeeming part of this movie, didn't receive enough screen time to salvage it.
November 16, 2018
Flawless. Enough said.
November 16, 2018
Watched this movie last night. As an avid Harry Potter fan this was a wonderful new entry into the 5 part series. This movie progressed at a much quicker pace than the previous installment. There is still the same delightful presence of new beasts as yet unexplored in the franchise and even some returning.
November 16, 2018
It was not a good movie, but it has great story which us true fans still love!
November 16, 2018
Molto carino. Ci sono cose che non tornano sia con la saga che col film precedente, per˛, e alcune decisioni prese palesemente all'ultimo secondo. Ma tutto sommato il film Ŕ godibile e divertente! Law e Depp sono stati fantastici, molto in parte e molto carismatici! Law in particolare, si vede che ha studiato a fondo la mimica del vecchio Dumbledore per la sua performance. Inutile Tina come personaggio, cosý come tutta la sottotrama su Litha Lestrange e sul fratello scambiato. Avrei preferito pi¨ sviluppo sul passato di Newt riguardo a Litha, piuttosto che su Litha stessa. E magari anche un p˛ pi¨ di spazio e background su Tina e Queenie, che altrimenti sono relegate al ruolo di interesse amoroso e diventano fastidiose..
November 16, 2018
This movie was amazing and completely underrated. Not a potterhead but i absolutely enjoyed the fantasy and dark elements in this film.
November 16, 2018
It was unlike other Harry Potter Films, and the story was amazing being a complex plot which directs us to the upcoming sequel and mysterious classification of the new Dumbledore Family member
November 16, 2018
the crimes of grindlewald film is amazing picks off from the grt go i really enjoyed it
November 16, 2018
Plot was too scattered. Several of the characters who they teased as being important really played no role in the outcome. The motivations of the characters made little to no sense. Walked out completely confused as to what happened, despite being very big Harry Potter fans and frequent visitors to Pottermore. Also, so much dialogue, and very little action. It gets 1 star because the acting was great, the story however, was terrible.
November 16, 2018
My daughter and I absolutely loved this movie. The actors were all such perfect choices for their rolls. It is very dark, and has themes that have an important message for today's world, but it was definitely for an older audience. I would not take children younger than the rating suggests. It is such a new view into an already beloved world.
½ November 16, 2018
Boring and confusing
November 16, 2018
I found the intricate story arc and character development refreshing compared to the more leveled down movies for general audiences we have lately. The beasts and special effects were captivating. The story has hooked me for the series.
½ November 16, 2018
Was absolutely horrible. There was no storyline, just a bunch of history for a set up for a next movie. Also there was no story in to beasts. It was all about introducing new characters and no beasts. Also there was never an explanation of Grinwald's crimes which is in the title.
½ November 16, 2018
Fantastic Beast 2: The Crimes of Grindelwald is a feast for the eyes and mediocre fare for the brain. The root of the problem lies right in the title. How do you marry a movie about finding fantastic beasts with a movie about defeating a dark wizard? Short answer: you don´┐ 1/2(TM)t.

A decent chunk of the movie is dedicated to Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) messing around with a variety of enchanting magical creatures and it is in these moments that the movie shines. These creatures showcase the best of J. K. Rowling´┐ 1/2(TM)s imagination and will be the parts of the movie that audiences enjoy most. However, none of these moments have much of anything to do with Grindelwald or any sort of plot, so they serve no purpose beyond showing how good Newt is with magical creatures. As far as the overall story is concerned, they´┐ 1/2(TM)re actually a detriment to the film which needed every minute of its 134 minute runtime if it wanted to make the plot work.

I don´┐ 1/2(TM)t say that with any degree of certainty because it´┐ 1/2(TM)s quite possible that no amount of run time would have allowed them to save this befuddling mess. Someone needs to explain to J.K. Rowling that large movie casts just don´┐ 1/2(TM)t work the same way that they do in books. The silver screen simply doesn´┐ 1/2(TM)t allow for time to adequately develop eleven characters, each with their own plot.

Don´┐ 1/2(TM)t get me wrong, the actors are fantastic, but the characters they play don´┐ 1/2(TM)t make a lot of sense. To give an example, there´┐ 1/2(TM)s a scene where Newt sees his brother Theseus Scamander (Callum Turner) shown up by another wizard. Newt´┐ 1/2(TM)s reaction to this is glee, but I don´┐ 1/2(TM)t know why. The brothers are shown as having different opinions, but they seem to be on okay terms and it´┐ 1/2(TM)s very clear that Theseus loves his brother. Why is Newt reacting as I´┐ 1/2(TM)d expect a character to react when their bully gets shown up?

This theme continues throughout the movie. Characters are horrifically underdeveloped and the problem is that the entire story relies on who the characters are. It makes for a tale that´┐ 1/2(TM)s hard to follow and that no one really cares about by the end. At least, that was the case in my viewing group.

If they´┐ 1/2(TM)d trimmed this thing down, cut out a good third of the character´┐ 1/2(TM)s and focused on a slightly simpler version of the plot, then this could have been a serviceable film. As it stands, it´┐ 1/2(TM)s a mess, with each plot element given only the most bare bones attention needed for me to be able to say that it´┐ 1/2(TM)s got a semblance of cohesion. Don´┐ 1/2(TM)t ask me to summarize it, though. That would take a good half-hour and you´┐ 1/2(TM)d probably still be lost.

On a slightly lesser note, I´┐ 1/2(TM)m deeply amused how poorly this movie paints aurors. Aren´┐ 1/2(TM)t they supposed to be powerful wizards who are chosen for their skills? Maybe the events of this movie made them reevaluate the criteria for joining, because the ones we see here are as competent as Storm Troopers.
November 16, 2018
Such an exhausting movie to watch. J.K Rowling is a great writer but not a good screenwriter. Audience without some decent knowledge of Harry Potter will find it extremely challenging to follow the movie because there are too many sub-stories. She should have focused on one main story. In addition, the movie lacks a climax to stun audience.
Page 1 of 14