Beautiful Boy Reviews

Page 1 of 10
February 15, 2019
The sad and tragic film has a happy ending.
February 15, 2019
One of the best movie I ever saw. A true story. A sad story. With real life problems and reality. Talking about addiction and it repercussions.
February 14, 2019
The 'Critic's Consensus' for this movie refers to it as having 'muted emotional impact.' To that I say: Are these critics completely heartless? Are they empty robots? Because I found the 'emotional impact' of Beautiful Boy to be far from muted. It made me cry, it made me smile, and it made me think.

What does seem to be a common positive throughout the reviews is the excellence of the leads, and that I completely agree with. Timoth├ (C)e Chalamet is amazing as he transforms from the happy, healthy, angelic early version of his character into a broken drug addict. And damn, Steve Carell is killing it in these 'serious' roles! Though that isn't surprising, really... He is a legend.

Yeah, this film might be a bit flawed, but it is beautiful all the same. Bring tissues.
½ February 13, 2019
Great acting..a gut wrenching and moving story. Highly recommemd.
February 13, 2019
Earnest and heartfelt, but narratively awkward, and emotionally unengaging

Based on the memoirs Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction by David Sheff and Tweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines by Nic Sheff, written for the screen by Luke Davies and Felix van Groeningen, and directed by van Groeningen in his English language debut, Beautiful Boy is a film about the horrors of addiction, told from the perspective of both an addict and his father. Focusing on David's attempts to understand and fight against his son's addiction to crystal meth, the film aims for a no-frills sans-sentimental authenticity. Serving as a showcase for the two lead actors (Steve Carell and Timothee Chalamet, both of whom are exceptional), there's little in the way of plot, and whilst it is certainly heartfelt and respectfully told, there's precious little emotional engagement. The most notable aspect of Beautiful Boy is the structure, which is both cyclical and non-linear - the film is made up of a series of high and lows following Nic and David through relapse and recovery, whilst at the same time, there are multiple flashbacks, with scenes in the present giving characters occasion to think about moments from the past. This technique is used throughout, often flashing back to happier memories of Nic's childhood. The problem is that it's overused; there's barely a scene that doesn't have some kind of temporal cutaway. Sometimes the flashbacks do work, but a lot of the time, it feels like an unjustified piece of trickery without much establishing context.

As regards the repetitive nature of the story, I understand what van Groeningen was going for - it is supposed to mirror the back and forth nature of addiction, a two steps forward, one step back staccato motion. However, the film falls into a pattern of Nic showing up looking a little more dishevelled than he did before, followed by David doing everything he can to help, followed by his failure to get through to Nic, followed by Nic disappearing, followed by Nic showing up looking a little more dishevelled than he did before, etc. And whilst this may lend itself to a certain authenticity, it doesn't make for very effective drama.

A major theme is that of the father-son relationship. With both actors giving superb performances, one really sees the bond between the two, and how much Nic's addiction is destroying both of them. In this sense, the real tragedy isn't the rehabs and relapses, it's seeing Nic drift further and further away from a man who would die to protect him.

With lesser performances, the film would crumble under the weight of van Groeningen's heavy-handed direction. Thankfully the performances are strong enough that the style distracts rather than undermines. That said, the benefit of the non-linear storytelling is that it allows Chalamet and Carell to really drive home how much their relationship changes, with their playful and happy earlier scenes contrasting heart-breakingly with the fraught and destructive times of later years. Chalamet's is the more physical of the two performances, conveying so much via his body language as he completely inhabits the character. Carell, for his part, does most of his best work with his eyes, conveying the sadness and desperation he feels.

Despite all of these positives, however, there are significant problems. For one, van Groeningen doesn't depict some of the darker aspects of Nic's story. For example, he turned to prostitution at one point to fund his addiction. Additionally, as his hits from crystal meth continued to diminish over time, he started shooting it up, which is insanely dangerous. Leaving out aspects such as this gives the film a kind of sanitised feeling. This kind of heart-breaking sordid detail would have helped the film immeasurably, especially in relation to its lack of emotional engagement.

This lack is the most egregious problem. A film of this nature, based on a true story, should be an emotional rollercoaster, but the audience is always removed, the emotions seen rather than experienced, as if we're looking at the rollercoaster instead of riding it. Although you certainly feel empathy and sympathy for David and Nic, you don't feel a huge amount else. It's also not a good sign that, for me, the most emotive part of the whole thing was hearing Nic himself reading a monologue from his book over the closing credits.

There have been some truly great films made about addiction; The Man With the Golden Arm, Days of Wine and Roses, The Panic in Needle Park, Trainspotting, Leaving Las Vegas, The Basketball Diaries, Requiem for a Dream. Beautiful Boy is nowhere near anything of this calibre. A straightforward and forgettable story, when it should be shocking, disturbing, and emotionally devastating. And whilst it is definitely heartfelt, its lack of emotional engagement, its repetitiveness, its distracting structure, all serve to grate against the incredible performances.
½ February 13, 2019
my beautiful boy was such a bad movie. Not only was it bad but it was so boring ! (a little detail I watched it in the theater so you normally wouldn't dream of a better experience but it was agony I couldn't bring myself to stay focused on the film). the first part felt like it was the same scene repeating itself in different sceneries. the acting was just embarrassing and that's coming from a huge timothee and Steve Carell stan... Also the way it was filmed was overall weird, it felt like an anti-smoking or donate to cancer advertising... Now on to the sound gotta give it to them they used great music and some cinematographic shots near the end were indeed beautiful (Though sometimes they would put overly dramatic soundtrack that made the thing cringe worthy but eh I'm just tired at this point). Conclusion 9$ of ticket money lost and you should watch the basketball diaries for a real performance, Leo never disappoints. OH also almost forgot no character depth you will feel very little to no empathy towards the characters. periodt
February 13, 2019
First, I don't know where the title for this movie came from. The father (Steve Carrell) says it over and over but we never see why the son (Timothee Chalamet) is referred to this way. Second, addiction sucks the life out of families which this movie barely demonstrates... barely. Third, Steve Carell can act. I know he can because I've seen the many movies he's done brilliant work in. In this movie I think a tree would have performed better than he did. Given the movie content I had no remorse for the father, son, family and there struggles due to the addiction. The one light of hope this movie did have was Maura Tierney but she had so little screen time it was lost.
February 12, 2019
The acting was good from both Carell and Chalamet, but the constant flashbacks made the movie so disjointed it was difficult to watch. Too bad the director chose that style :(
February 11, 2019
Timothee Chalamet gives the performance of his life career until now. The story is touching, heartbreaking and well constructed, everything seems genuin and credible and we are feeling the pain increase as the movie goes on and on. Beautiful Boy has the incredible superpower of put you in the skin of its characters and make you feel how hard and painful is fight a disease like drugs. Very pertinent, we were needing a movie like this. Amazing and powerful soundtrack.
½ February 11, 2019
While not as dramatic and powerful as I thought it would be, Beautiful Boy is still a sad and fascinating film based on a father and son memoir. It's well shot, and Steve Carell and Timothee Chalamet have got to be one of the best acting duos of the year, they are just great. It's a flick that deals with heavy themes of addiction, with physical and emotional recovery, but also tackling themes of trust and parenthood. But the only real problem with this movie is the music choices, it's terrible, some don't fit the scenes at all, and it just makes the film look cringe-worthy. But apart from that, this is a good movie and one to see. Recommended !!
February 10, 2019
Beautiful Boy follows the true story of Nick Sheff (played by Timoth├ (C)e Chalamet), a young drug addict, and David Sheff (played by Dteve Carell), his father, a journalist. ItÔ(TM)s an incredible voyage through the eyes of an addict and throught the lives of his loved ones. This film not only gives you a certain understanding of this addiction but also how it affects the families touched by it. Timoth├ (C)e Chalamet gives an amazing performance, bringing every emotion, from joy to despair to agony, moving the viewers. Steve Carell leaves his comedic past and serves one of his best performance of all time. The soundtrack moves you as much as the emotions felt through the screen. The cinematography leaves you speechless. A true underrated masterpiece! Congratulations to the cast and crew. 10/10
February 5, 2019
This movie wrecked me to my core...Iit was so beautifully done from music to scenes to the actors all so intimately linked. Highly recommend this movie of a true story on how drug addiction affects this entire family...something that is rapidly growing in the US...the void is the sickness ...the drugs & alcohol are the wrong treatment of choice´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?
Timothy Chalamut was incredibly raw as Steve Carrel´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s young son...grateful to have seen this!
February 5, 2019
This movie is touching throughout and it makes me cried.It´┐ 1/2(TM)s a great father-son movie I seen before this time.
February 5, 2019
Emotionally charged performances from Timothee Chalamet and Steve Carell expertly navigate the excruciating cycles of addiction, recovery and relapse. Felix van Groeningen draws the best out of his actors and the expertly edited narrative jumps between past and present have the viewers heavily invested in this straining relationship between father and son.
February 2, 2019
The acting is what stood out most for me in this poignant look at addiction.
January 31, 2019
This was the most touching and emotional movie I have ever seen. Both main male and female actors and actresses were so dominate and effective. I have never seen such an amazing film with such an impactful message.
January 30, 2019
Heavy-handed? At times. Manipulative? You bet. But a gut-punch of a movie, nonetheless. Steve Carell stars as David Sheff, a man determined to save the life of his drug-addicted son. Alternating bite-sized scenes of pain and misery with flashbacks to happier times, the movie follows David's Herculean efforts to both understand his son's demons and help him exorcise them (even though Nic's repeated stints in detox never seem to work). Kudos to director Felix Van Groeningen for establishing a grim tone at the very beginning and having the courage to maintain it throughout. Carell, underplaying, keeps nearly everything simmering beneath the surface, while Timothee Chalamet as Nic frequently allows his roiling emotions to explode like a volcano; both are excellent. With Maura Tierney as David's embattled second wife and Nic's stepmother. Based on a pair of memoirs by father and son. A must-see.
½ January 30, 2019
Timothe'e Chalamet really deserved the Golden Globe for best supporting, It is most certainly a scandal that he was not nominated for the Oscar for the very same category..Richard Grant and Sam Rockwell but not Timothe'e.... COME ON! Nevertheless this is actually a beautifully made film, filmed in beautiful parts of California about a very ugly and nasty dilemma so often mischaracterized or worse romanticized in Hollywood. At this point in American society, this is basically a must see.
January 28, 2019
Rarely does a film move me so much that I'm still thinking about it 5 days later. Both Carrell and Chalamet exhibit such rawness and realness, you can't help but put yourself in both of their shoes. Parents and their children should watch this movie together.
January 27, 2019
Absolutely wonderful, Steve and Timothee both deserved Oscars for this.
Page 1 of 10