A Star Is Born Reviews

Page 1 of 127
½ January 19, 2019
Nasce uma Estrela (2018) #MovieReview 3,5 ‚≠?Ôł? Cantor famoso e pingu√ßo com carreira descendo ladeira encontra em bar garota com voz e potencial. Se juntam e a coisa melhora para ambos at√ (C) ela fazer mais sucesso. Bom filme, com grandes atua√ß√Ķes. Oscar? N√£o.
January 19, 2019
Two excessively talented people breathe intense life into the old melodrama. This is the first incarnation where I really believed the love story, and without that, the rest is so much show business. All praise to Barbara Streisand and Judy Garland, but Bradley Cooper is the first "Maine" who shook me and whose fate I mourned.
January 19, 2019
As atua√ß√Ķes e as m√ļsicas s√£o boas, mas o ritmo com que a hist√≥ria se desenrola √ (C) um pouco r√°pido demais, as coisas s√≥ acontecem uma atr√°s da outra.
January 19, 2019
Wonderful movie. Love watching Lady Gaga act her ass off!! Really great chemistry with Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper!!
January 19, 2019
Really great movie!!! Great acting lady gaga! Never expected she'll be a very good actress.
January 19, 2019
Omg, This movie itÔŅ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)s pathetic. Reveals a sad, sorry pathetic woman does not believe in herself and a sad pathetic man who is a drunken asshole.; and the music sucks And she needs him to make her feel good for herself, who rewrote this? The second original in the 70s, with Barbra Streisand, she was a strong woman and she affected his life is an awesome way: true love. I paid 21 bucks for this piece of crap. donÔŅ 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)t buy
January 19, 2019
"good stories never die; they just patiently rest as filmmakers figure out how to bring back their sparkle."
½ January 19, 2019
Very boring and predictable.
January 19, 2019
Yeah, no. I gotta disagree with the consensus on this one. I found it shallow, inauthentic and a bit boring. The music was meh. They had this big plot to get through with a bunch of boxes to check; some of the moments on the path were pretty good, but other times I found it forced. Character reactions to things often did not feel organic. I would be amazed if Lady Gaga does not get a Best Actress nomination. She may well be the favorite to win. I simply disagree. She is a good performer of music - so give her a Grammy. Her acting is inconsistent. This was Bradley Cooper's directorial debut. No idea what kind of future he may have. I'd need to see what he does with some non-recycled material and no big pop star. 4.8 out of 10
January 19, 2019
Found myself wanting more and forgot I was even watching a movie. Bradlys performance is haunting and ge‚(TM)ll Break your heart in every scene. Lady Gaga is a true actress and even not being a fan of hers, I am so into her craft and have such a bigger appreciation for who she is. Their chemistry is amazing as well. This will forever be a movie I watch from now on
January 18, 2019
The best big star movie out of Hollywood in years.
January 18, 2019
One of the most emotional, real, heart felt and well done movies I've ever seen. I've watched it 4 times and bawl like a baby everytime. Ugly crying. Phenomenal movie.
January 18, 2019
Emotional, heartfelt and touching. It is a movie done well. Superb casting and exceptional acting.
½ January 18, 2019
Honestly one of my least favorite movies of the year. Every choice made behind anyone in the movie or behind the scene whether its the acting, directing, score, soundtrack, writing, every choice felt like a generic executive asked: "but like what do the Oscars like?" Making every tiny choice predictable, generic, and not effective.
½ January 18, 2019
Stellar. Cooper and Gaga. I wouldn't have ever thought that would be a casting. I was wrong, very wrong. What an amazing film, her as the star rising and him as a star falling and drowning in drink. They briefly cross paths in their journey and the path of love is not a smooth one. I really did feel like it was a real band on a real tour at some points as Cooper is on stage at so many festival and gigs. This is a tear jerker, but sometime you need to feel.
½ January 18, 2019
A Star Is Born is a remake of the 1937 original and is directed by Bradley Cooper in his directorial debut. The film stars Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, Dave Chappelle, and Sam Elliott. The film is about Jackson Maine (Cooper), an alcoholic rock star who is heading towards the end of his career. After a concert, he stops to get some drinks at a bar not realizing that it‚(TM)s a drag bar. As he‚(TM)s drinking, he watches Lady Gaga‚(TM)s character Ally perform a French tune, and he instantly gains feelings for her. He soon helps Ally get into the music industry and gives new meaning to his career.

Throughout the film, there are many concert scenes that all include live performances from Gaga and Cooper. It gave the film a much more realistic and mesmerizing feeling to the film. Most of the music was also written by Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper, featuring hits such as Always Remember Us This Way, Maybe It‚(TM)s Time, and the feature song Shallow.

The acting in the film is phenomenal. Lady Gaga especially was fantastic. This is also her first time acting for a key role in a major motion picture. She gives a performance that makes you truly understand the struggles she is going through and makes you feel as if you knew her your entire life. Her chemistry is also phenomenal with Bradley Cooper. It‚(TM)s the type of chemistry where you forget they‚(TM)re acting and start believing what you‚(TM)re watching is real. Sam Elliott was also great in the film, playing Jackson Maine‚(TM)s brother Bobby. He isn‚(TM)t in the film a lot but when he is, he steals the spotlight.

But the person who deserves the most recognition is Bradley Cooper. Not only did he star in the film, but he also directed, co-wrote the screenplay and the music, learned how to sing and play guitar, and produced the film. With all those tasks something could‚(TM)ve easily gone wrong, but instead he proved that he is arguably the most talented person in Hollywood.

There only a few problems with this film. The first issue is the run time. The film is 2 hours and 15 minutes and could easily be condensed to 2 hours. The second problem is the songwriting. As the film goes on the songs seem more and more unoriginal and repetitive. It felt like the songwriters just gave up in the middle of the writing process and decided to write songs that are catchy and uninspired. The last issue with the film is the amount of screen time Sam Elliott received. It felt like he was robbed because every single scene he‚(TM)s in proves that he is one of the greatest actors around. With more screen time he could‚(TM)ve made a much bigger impact on the film.

Recently there has been a lot of award talk about A Star Is Born and rightfully so. This film, in my opinion, is the best film of the year. It is one of the few films this year that has an extreme range of emotions from love to suffering. This is one of those films that could be nominated for many awards and earned and deserves all of them.

Overall, the film is phenomenal with powerful performances, a rocking soundtrack, and the greatest chemistry of the year with Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper this year. Cooper‚(TM)s directorial debut was a great one and I can‚(TM)t wait to see what he has for us next.
January 18, 2019
I guess you could call this movie entertaining, and leave it at that. It just happened that it was released on srtreaming as I finished opioid detox from years of dependency from a spinal fracture., This personal connection to "Jack" gave the plot a direct line to my soul, but the caricature of addiction I portrayed here felt hackneyed. The direction was soppy and over-indulgentl, but a bit more pace and fewer endless Jack pauses could have helped quite a bit. Ultimately, I had spent ten days of detox listening to the great women singers of the 20th-21st Century - Ronstadt, Flsack, Harris, Houstons, Franklin, McLaughlin, etc etc. Then to hear LG was, well, thin soup at best. Given the tech available to pump her voice up in a movie, it just ends as a nice instrument, fully developed, but not even relevant to a list of great female vocalists. It's thin soup, really - pop singers just can't make the kind of scope the greats came by as a gift, Nort to say she doesn't work her ass off. You can see that work in pretty much every scene. The last song was a total dud, the plot an absolute downer, negative message, awhich I took as a :woke" fever fantasy that the white man must die for the woman/LGBTQ to blossom, even after it was his white privilege that gave her her "birth."
January 18, 2019
So boring. There is no "chemistry" between the two leads - everything is so rote, so cliched and so dull. As a viewer I was not rooting for anyone, did not see any real reason for these two to be together and I found the songs utterly uninspired. As poetry, they are trite in the extreme and the music adds nothing. If anything it makes them even duller. The lyrics are clunky and barely accommodate the trudging onward of the music. The one exception is the pop song which knows what it is meant to be, does not pretend to be anything else and succeeds in its chosen genre.

I am stunned at the rave reviews including this one that go so far as to suggest melodramatically that if you did not like it you are somehow emotionally lacking, i.e. "have forgotten how to feel."
No, there is a way to make romantic sparks come alive on screen and in song, this movie had NONE OF THEM.

This sentence, buried in a review full of apologies for not sufficiently liking the movie, sums it up: "I just felt the lead characters were ultimately cardboard cutouts of music cliches without any nuance or originality."
(Zeba Blay and Priscilla Frank, Huffington Post, Oct 15 2018)
One can omit the "I just felt." This is why the movie cannot deliver.
½ January 17, 2019
Just the most depressing movie, but wow is it terrific. Did not think this was going to go well with Bradley Cooper directing and Lady Gaga acting and both were out of this world and I want to see more. His directing style had me riveted and her acting (even while singing incredibly) was impressive. Who knew Bradley Cooper could sing so well either? The music in this movie is just terrific and moves me emotionally whenever I hear it. Really paints a vivid and much needed picture of the danger of alcoholism, depression, and the downsides of being famous. But we still cant make suicide out to be a heroic act in this case. While he may be doing it for her, anyone who has been affected by suicide, myself included, would agree the repercussions and consequences do no good to anyone and only pass the depression on to a handful of people that carry it further.
January 17, 2019
Relies heavily on the charisma of Bradley Cooper and the music. I'm a huge fan of Lady Gaga so I'm happy to see her excelling on screen as well. Entertaining and fun to watch, but doesn't have the soul I thought it might. No tears, no laughter. It's solid. A good solid piece of entertainment with two actors that are eminently watchable, but nothing special.
Page 1 of 127